Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to overclocking, never overclocked before a cpu. I have the basic ideea of overclocking but still need some help.

I don't aim for a huge overclock of over 4Ghz, somwhere 3.4, 3.6 is enough for me for the moment.

First I wanted to see what is my cpu load temperature at the current frequency. I ran prime95 torture test (small FFT's) and you can see the temperatures in the screenshot I added. To me it seems they are pretty high. Do I need to change my cooler before I even think of overclocking?

The shot was taken after 6minutes of running prime 95.

Thanks

·
Registered
4,255 Posts
I would recommend you upgrade your cooling before attempting overclocking. After folding 24/7 for a week, I am at 55C on my hottest core.

·
Premium Member
4,764 Posts
I agree that you should grab a new cooler, bro. That 9550 can do some serious work but it's already burning up.... Get one of those Hyper 212's for about 30 bucks and you'll be set for the adventure.

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks, I will change my cooler.

Another thing, I know it might be a noob question, but I noticed that when I change the FSB, the RAM frequency changes. How can I keep my memory to 1333mhz?

·
Premium Member
4,512 Posts
Yea your temps are horrible.

RAM is on a multipier from the FSB. You can bumpi it down to 1:1.

You should search up some basic 775 overclocking guides then find the thread on P5Q boards before you start into this.

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I searched my bios and can't find anywhere this ram fsb multiplier. Any ideas? From the guys with a p5qc mobo?

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·