Overclock.net banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay guys im new to overclock.net and im glad i joined i found alot of helpful information. Okay im building a new rig for the FIRST time. I just recently bought a:

Aspire X-plorere case by apevia (black)
Asus A8n deluxe motherboard
Kingwin 520w power supply ( on its way)

Now there are two things im confused on getting first is the cpu i was looking torwards the

AMD athalon x2 4600
or
AMD athalon x2 4800

I'm stuck on those two cpus and really dont know witch one to get... I love playing videos games but at the same time i like downloading music playing videos all that kind of stuff so if anyone could help me out finding witch cpu would be better that would be really appreciated..

Now the other thing im having problems with is choosing my memory i have the asus a8n mother board witch supports up to 4gb of memory but i dont feel like i don't need that much memory or prove me wrong if it is worth having the 4gb's
I was looking forward to buying from these companies

Corsair
G-skill
Patriot

But for the corsair i was looking at the corsais xms series wit the leds built in i thought that was a nice touch but should i buy 2gb stick or go with 4 512

Thanks for all your help i would look at everyones response every knowledge you guys have well help me alot thanks

Mike

·
Registered
1,599 Posts
Buy a 2x1GB DDR-500 kit, that will be enough for any computing you will be doing. Asus and G.Skill have some compatibilty issues just so you know. You might also want to look at getting a 4400+ instead of the 4600+ or 4800+ if you intend on overclocking. The 4400+ and the 4800+ both have 2x1MB of L2Cache so you want to look at those two models. The 4400+ and the 4800+ both will likely reach the same net frequency if you overclock and will cost less, so it would be my choice.

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #3