Overclock.net banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi guys, I'm new to building PC's but I am looking to learn. I am currently building a new system and I got the bloodrage (which is pretty to look at), but I cannot install windows on it. It either reboots while loading the CD or shows me a blue screen (0x7b error). I think it has something to do with the harddrive but I don't know what. I have a sata hdd that I've connected through the front sas_sata port using the sas cable and it shows me the hdd when I boot up the computer. However, when I am installing windows, it tells me that it detects no hdd. It's getting me pretty frustrated because I really want to use this board. I hope it's not a faulty board that I've gotten. For more information, the sata mode is set to IDE with legacy mode enabled and I am trying to install windows xp. Thanks guys, I appreciate it.

·
Premium Member
17,407 Posts
You might need to run the install CD that came with the board. I am thinking the OS doesnt have the SAS drivers. So after inputing the install code, you get to a screen to upgrade or do a full install. Hit full install. Then on the next screen hit the "Advanced" options and select the option to, "Load Drivers". Hit this, and browse the CD. Look for the SAS drivers, and install them. You should then be able to install the propper drivers.

Note my board does not have a SAS controller, so I am not 100% if this is your problem. But to the best of my knowledge, this could be the reason the Install isnt detecting the OS.

And just to verify, does the HDD show up in the bios?

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yea, the hdd does show up in the bios. What do you mean by install code? Would the computer read the mobo driver cd without an os installed? Thanks for the reply btw!

·
Premium Member
17,407 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by johntus
View Post