Overclock.net banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all!
I am new to VM tech and wanting to learn by expermenting at home. So I build a whitebox and after doing some research I created this monster. Its a little beefy but If this does not work out it will make a great home server/game rig for my son.

asus sabertooth 990fx r2.0
AMD FX-8350 4 GHz Processor - Socket AM3+
16GB CRUCIAL RAM DDR3 1600
(4) Seagate ST2000DM001 Barracuda 7200RPM 2 TB SATA 6 GB/s NCQ 64 MB Cache in raid 10
46M0861 IBM SERVERAID M1015 SAS/SATA CONTROLLER P/N: 46M0861
ESXi 5.0

My problem is when I try to load ESXi onto my box I get a error at megaraid_sas. Which I think could be related to the Raid controller.
I went into the long form report on the loading the OS and posted a picture of some of the lines so maybe someone could steer me in the right direction.
Also included is the specs of my Raid card.

·
I'm NOT new to Overclock
11,139 Posts
Your card isn't compatible with V-Sphere 5

Also, if I remember rightly, your network card is broadcom, V-sphere won't work with broadcom network cards either or if it does work it doesn't like it at all

EDIT - I've just seen you have 46M0861 IBM SERVERAID M1015 SAS/SATA CONTROLLER give me a minute, I thought you were running something else

UPDATE - Checked it, your card isn't compatible, if you really want to get this up and running, you might be better off with an HP microserver, that's what I run at home and they are pretty cheap to get
biggrin.gif

Comps

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
This is what I found on VMWARE'S site. Reason I purchased the RAID

As for the Nic, I've not heard anything about it but would not doubt it. I have gotten some advice to try to install the OS on a USB drive then install the card.. this sometimes works..

·
Registered
1,059 Posts
The MicroServer is amazingly versatile, proud owner of one myself.