Overclock.net banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
600 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I am new to home audio, so I do not even know where to begin. The last thing that I have to set up in my media room is the sound system. I am looking for a 5.1 system that will be great for games/movies/music. I have been researching and noticed that it can get very expensive fast. I have looked at everything from a system in a box to piecing it together. I don't know what would work better for a novice such as myself. I don't know what brand, model or anything, really.

I need something that I can run through my PC and gaming consoles. I think that I would like to have a central receiver that I can plug in HDMI cables into and then have one HDMI run from the receiver to the TV...if that makes any sense.

I do have a bit of a budget, I would say around $300-400. If there is any other information that you need to help me out, please let me know.

Thank you in advance for any and all help, suggestions and advice that you can offer.

Testudo

·
Registered
607 Posts
hi... your budget is light.. to get everything for a 5.1 setup ...but maybe

being a bit flexible and willing to consider used gear would help... i am not sure about where you live but here there is frequently some decent used gear on CL and whatnot.

but here goes for (with refurbs to have any chance of staying in budget)

receiver $100~ Denon refurb

http://www.accessories4less.com/make-a-store/item/denavr1513/denon-avr-1513-5.1ch-home-theater-receiver-3d-ready/1.html

center $80~
Pioneer SP-C21
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16882117404

speaker (fronts and surrounds) $80 * 2 =160~
Pioneer SP-BS21
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16882117405
(x2 pairs)

and sub
Pioneer SW-8-K $100~
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16882117402