Overclock.net banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, my setup is q6600 G0, Asus blitz formula, 2x http://www.ocztechnology.com/product...c_dual_channel as my RAM (DDR2-800).

I am running at 3.25GHz with the following settings
Multi: 9x
FSB strap to north bridge: 400MHz
FSB: 360
DRAM Frequency: 959MHz
DRAM voltage: 2.10V

RAM Timings: 5-6-6-18
FSB:RAM ratio is 16:12, or 4:3

CPU voltage: 1.475 perhaps a bit high, but can't go any lower for some reason and I'm worried it's because of the RAM settings.

Is the 4:3 FSB:RAM ratio too high, and what about my other settings? I'm still relatively new to OCing, and recently had some BSOD crashes related to overclocking. However, in the past, I never had an issue running 3.25GHz with lower voltage (around 1.4V) but now I can't run 3.25GHz below 1.475V and I'm starting to think it's something to do with the RAM settings, hence this post. I don't think it is hardware failure (even though the BSOD I was getting indicated so) because it runs fine at stock.

Really would appreciate any help or insight into my problem, thanks!

·
Registered
1,535 Posts
With temps under control your CPU Voltage is fine that high.

Personally I would set my ram timings at 2:1 considering it's 800 and it would effectively be 720 at your FSB

Shouldn't you be able to run at 5-5-5-18?

Your Ram should be run at 1.8v

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Okay thanks for the info, I'll be changing to 8x400 (3.2GHz is more than enough), ram to 1.8V, timings at 5-5-5-18. In this case, what should my RAM frequency be set to?

Also going to drop the cpu voltage down to 1.45, does that seem a little excessive for 3.2GHz?

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I've done those settings, set the RAM frequency to 800 and going to try some stability tests now. Any further help or advice is welcome

·
Registered
1,535 Posts