Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
299 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

i got an intel D865PERL and a 3.0Ghz processor. Im quite new to overclocking but i get the basics.
In the BIOS i can increase my FSB 4% maximum and no more??? is there any way i can increase the FSB or Even unlock the multiplier?
would i need to change any voltages ?

thanx guys

·
Premium Member
5,606 Posts
actually, intel motherboards are really bad at overclocking, u wont get very far. u cant chnge alot of settings, and there isnt any option to change multis, but thats on all intels. if u want to overclock very far, ure going to have to change your mobo

·
Registered
299 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
what mobo would u guys recommend and processor? i want a really well overclockable processor and mobo and if u can a good CHEAP water cooler that could go along with it.. thanks very much rep points will be awarded

·
Registered
299 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
could i keep my current processor and use the DFI lanparty?
how much approx would it cost?? in USD

·
Registered
299 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
mPGA478
yeah tahts awesome and with that board, how much u reckon i could overclock it using my current processor

·
Premium Member
8,743 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by TwEaK_MoNkeY
mPGA478
yeah tahts awesome and with that board, how much u reckon i could overclock it on the Ic7-g?
with good cooling say a thermaltake tower112, i think you could hit 3.7 but it could be more or it could be less, thats just the way things are in this game...
you will need to get some macho ram to reach those speeds though...

im off to bed though...
Good luck

·
Registered
1,052 Posts
The best 2 motherboards for 478 are the Asus p4c800-e Deluxe or the Abit Ic7-Max3

·
Registered
299 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·
to keep up with the processor speed the ram will need what memory timings?

currently set at 7-3-3-3

·
Registered
1,052 Posts
Quote: