Overclock.net banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Heya, i'm basically new to overclocking, though i have read alot of previous posts and have a brief idea.

My specs are:
Intel Pentium D 3.4Ghz dual core processor
2GB DDR2 RAM
Nvidia Geforce 6200 128 Mb
250GB HDD
Windows Vista Business x32

Yeah, if i can just get a guide on how to do it through bios, thatd be great.

Thanks in advance
Al

·
Junglist
7,233 Posts
You need to fill in your system specs here http://www.overclock.net/specs.php
So we can help you

It says 3.4Ghz so why is it running at 2.4?
To enter your bios hit either DELETE or F1
Look for FSB settings and ramp Bus speed up, do it in 5Mhz increments until youur system will not post or boot, then tone down.
Not really sure about intel o/cing but i hope this helps!

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Wow that was fast

Uhh how do i find out some of these more complicated specs?
I don't think cup-z shows them

·
Registered
1,326 Posts
dude what motherboard do you have ???

you are already mission out on you cpu speed

fgo to you bios and disable the cpu funcions like ( EIST, THERMAL MONITOR AND STUFF )

when you are in the bios on the right handside there is a description of what each option does

disable anything that manages cpu vid, vcore , voltage , frequency and such and cpu z will show 3.4ghz in operation that aside you will see a performance increase instantly

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Uhh, ok i guess i better get to it.
What your telling me to do isn't actually overclocking as such is it? Like it isn't gonna have the risk of causing harm to my pc?

·
Registered
1,326 Posts
not really

basicly you are just deactivating some technology taht intel made, wich controls your cpu, basicly it reduces your cpu speed when it thinks you dont need it , and once you open a application that demands cpu power, it puts your speed back on.

so by disabling these options you are at full speed all times