Overclock.net banner
1 - 20 of 333 Posts

·
Registered
3,166 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all

Some of you may remember i made my own waterblock a while back out of an old intel heatsink (here it is). Well I'm back at it again, but this time I'm making it truly from scratch using copper.

I am not a professional photographer but i will do my best to make the thing look good, i have made my own soft box out of a bed sheet but if you have any suggestions to make my pictures look better please tell me.

Updates:
Pictures of raw copper.
Cutting the base plate Part 1.
Cutting the base part 2 and edge cleaning.
Barb
Water contact surface.
Mid plate.
First day progression.
Day two progression.
Water channel ideas.
Water channel progression.
Mid plate water channels almost complete.
Finished mid plate.
Pictures of mid and bottom plate.
Top plate cut and general progress.
Mock up.
Mid plate and top plate together.
Barb holes drilled.
All plates soldered together.
Completed waterblock.
Engraving.
Lapping pictures.
Testing results.
Installed pictures.
Homemade fan controller
Radiator installed and running.

My favourite picture of the whole build.

·
Registered
3,166 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Pictures of raw copper.
This has the big base and some copper tubing which i may or may not use for another project.

The huge piece of copper plate is for sidewalls.

The copper in all ways a bit more than 2Kg and cost me $15 AUD at a local scrapper.

More to come soon.

·
Premium Member
3,001 Posts
I want to see the results of this
. I've always thought about the same concept as you, running water through a regular heatsink, but never had the tools to do so

·
Registered
3,166 Posts
Discussion Starter · #15 ·
Cutting the base plate Part 1

I have started cutting the baseplate.

I started with a hacksaw but that was taking way to long and too much effort so i swapped over to the jigsaw.

This is all the bits.