Overclock.net banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
142 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Built plenty of rigs back in the p4/xp days. Built one quad core when 7 was released. And now sold it and ordered a new rig. So much has changed, I hope I picked out a decent setup. Was poking around in your forums and thought I'd get a few pointers from you guys on what I might want settings wise during install. Saw a lot of threads about boincing and folding, no clue at all what these mean. Anyways, here is the setup I ordered, and I am reusing an OCZ vertex plus 240gb for my boot/programs and a 2TB caviar black for backup/storage, and an 800w power supply.
http://secure.newegg.com/WishList/PublicWishDetail.aspx?WishListNumber=18403432
If I should post elsewhere with my questions, just let me know.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
 

·
PC Gamer
Joined
·
3,899 Posts
Welcome to OCN.

As for your rig, you picked out some good stuff, have fun building it
thumb.gif


after your done building it you can click on the rigbuilder and fill out your rig info.
 

·
Initializing...
Joined
·
23,794 Posts
Hey and welcome to OCN!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
142 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
After everything, I managed to spend less than $400 out of my pocket for this.

Here it is, shortly after UPS arrived.

IMG_20120123_144820.jpg

IMG_20120123_144646.jpg


and an hour and a half later
IMG_20120123_190046.jpg

IMG_20120123_190135.jpg

IMG_20120123_190749.jpg

IMG_20120123_190811.jpg

IMG_20120123_190859.jpg


And after getting the OS in, and about 10 games, I still have 150GB left on my SSD.
Here is my favorite bench marking software results.

http://3dmark.com/3dmv/3844115
 

·
The Computer Guy
Joined
·
6,490 Posts
Welcome to the OCN forums.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
142 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Set up my build in the rigbuilder, how do I get it into my signature when I post?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
120 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheetohz View Post

Set up my build in the rigbuilder, how do I get it into my signature when I post?
Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
Go to your profile and scroll down to "Your Forum Signature"
then...underneath the text field you will see little drop down menus for adding your rig to your sig (3 drop downs i think)
thumb.gif


hope this helped
 

·
Washed Up Old Gamer
Joined
·
4,681 Posts
:clock:welcome:clock:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
142 Posts
Discussion Starter · #17 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arslay View Post

Wow! How did you manage to get all of that for only $400?
sold my 4 year old rig for $550, had some coupons, rebates and giftcards

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
28 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheetohz View Post

Set up my build in the rigbuilder, how do I get it into my signature when I post?
Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
Got to your profile and scroll down to "YOur Forum Signature". Click on Edit Signature Text and it will give you an option to list your rigs.

HTH
 
1 - 18 of 18 Posts
Top