Overclock.net banner

How can you tell if a programmer is good or not?

3888 Views 9 Replies 7 Participants Last post by  Mrzev
I am a software dev with 10+ years, and I really dont know how to answer this. I look at other peoples code and feel envious, but they feel the same about my code too. So, when I was looking for a job, when i was asked how good of a developer i was, I really didnt know how to answer it. Being good or bad at something is relative to others. My vision can be 20:300 , but when everyone around me is blind, my vision is good. So how do you compare yourself to average? I also have high expectations, but once again thats a relative term based on a relative value... Ughhhhh.. Then there is skills in different areas... I suck at java, but i can get by. I have never written in GO , but i can learn fast... sooo? Is it a combination of experiences in areas that match yours? In a job interview is it what aligns with their current projects?

1. How do you know if your a good or bad programmer?
2. How do you know that other person is a good programmer.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

· Registered
2,311 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I think I also overlooked the aspect of forward thinking. So, I am looking at this code and its a mess, the database, the model, the controller, and the page all hacked together. Some cool stuff was done, but its a confusing mess that works poorly. I know the situation was, they asked for X, so he added X. They asked for Y, so he added Y. 1 Year later, its just patches on patches of stuff. What this developer lacked was asking the right questions in regards to designing for the future. How things are going to interact. What is going to be built upon.

I know i am a good programmer, my post was wondering the reasoning behind it.

· Registered
2,311 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·