Overclock.net banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
655 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I ran prime 95 yesterday for 13 hours to make sure my CPU oc was stable. During that test my memory was running at 750MHz, with 1.9v (underclocked and undervolted). So I figure now my CPU is squared away time to OC the ram. My ram's stock volts are listed on G.Skill's website as 2.0-2.1. So I put it at 2.1, and set the speed to the next highest availible DDR2 938MHz. <br />
<br />
So far it seems ok, as it hasnt restarted, but how can I stress test them? Would prime 95 work for testing RAM's stability?<br />
<br />
<br />
Thx
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
749 Posts
yes, just make sure you do the blend test for several hours.
 
  • Rep+
Reactions: kevsta112003

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
8,427 Posts
The best ram tester is memtest86.
 
  • Rep+
Reactions: kevsta112003

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
3,844 Posts
If you memory was the least bit unstable then Prime would have failed.
 
  • Rep+
Reactions: kevsta112003

·
Registered
Joined
·
749 Posts
I like memtest but its but its soooooooooo sloooooooooow. and it was just hell figuring out how to make the bootable cd. I'm never making one again, had to dl so much trial software.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
655 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Ok thanks, turns out 938MHz with 2.1v was unstable, it crashed.<br><br>
One more question, how many volts above stock is it safe to go with RAM? I just put it at 2.15 after it crashed at 2.1. I cant loosen timings, they are at 5-6-6-18.<br><br>
Heres my ram. <a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820231073" target="_blank">http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231073</a>
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
8,095 Posts
<div style="margin:20px;margin-top:5px;">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px;">Quote:</div>
<table border="0" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" width="99%"><tr><td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset;">
<div>Originally Posted by <strong>stormlobster</strong> <a href="showthread.php?s=d51c1a11b1f7d586c94ba64097780a71&p=1400991#post1400991"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="http://static.overclock.net//img/forum/go_quote.gif" style="border:0px solid;"></a></div>
<div style="font-style:italic;">I like memtest but its but its soooooooooo sloooooooooow. and it was just hell figuring out how to make the bootable cd. I'm never making one again, had to dl so much trial software.</div>
</td>
</tr></table></div>
all you do is burn the image (.iso) with nero....<br><br>
Nice job, though....*****.<br><br><br>
USE MEMTEST86.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
655 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Well I ran prime 95 for 3 hours and no restarts, so I assume my RAM is stable, although I havent used memtest yet. <br />
<br />
What are safe volts for DDR2 RAM with stock volts listed as 2.0-2.1?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,737 Posts
<div style="margin:20px; margin-top:5px; ">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px">Quote:</div>
<table cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="99%">
<tr>
<td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset">

<div>
Originally Posted by <strong>kevsta112003</strong>
<a href="showthread.php?s=92c472ab6416178eb1b53b0d775857c3&p=1403376#post1403376" rel="nofollow"><img class="inlineimg" src="http://static.overclock.net//img/forum/go_quote.gif" border="0" alt="View Post" /></a>
</div>
<div style="font-style:italic">Well I ran prime 95 for 3 hours and no restarts, so I assume my RAM is stable, although I havent used memtest yet. <br />
<br />
What are safe volts for DDR2 RAM with stock volts listed as 2.0-2.1?</div>

</td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>You need to run it for at least 6 hours to ensure maximum stability, and even then you have a small chances of running into instability<br />
<br />
It depends on the chips, I've seen D9's running at 2.5v 24/7 just fine(with active cooling), don't know about the others though
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
655 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
Yeah I will run it for probably a good 12 hours, I just had to turn it off and thus cut my test short.<br />
<br />
If it's prime 95 stable for 12 hours, do I still need to run memtest or can I pretty much say I'm stabel?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,737 Posts
<div style="margin:20px; margin-top:5px; ">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px">Quote:</div>
<table cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="99%">
<tr>
<td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset">

<div>
Originally Posted by <strong>kevsta112003</strong>
<a href="showthread.php?s=92c472ab6416178eb1b53b0d775857c3&p=1403426#post1403426" rel="nofollow"><img class="inlineimg" src="http://static.overclock.net//img/forum/go_quote.gif" border="0" alt="View Post" /></a>
</div>
<div style="font-style:italic">Yeah I will run it for probably a good 12 hours, I just had to turn it off and thus cut my test short.<br />
<br />
If it's prime 95 stable for 12 hours, do I still need to run memtest or can I pretty much say I'm stabel?</div>

</td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>No you don't need to run memtest after 12 hours of prime. I personally don't like memtest86, I can pass hours after hours of memtest test 8 but not even pass 2 seconds of blend
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,004 Posts
I'd say it was stable.<br />
<br />
Like someone said before, if your ram wasn't stable Prime would pick it pretty quick and fail.<br />
<br />
I think that Prime is a better test of ram stability than Memtest but thats just my opinion <img src="/images/smilies/wink.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Wink" class="inlineimg" /><br />
<br />
EDIT: Damn Boredom, you are just too quick
 
  • Rep+
Reactions: kevsta112003

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,767 Posts
<div style="margin:20px; margin-top:5px; ">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px">Quote:</div>
<table cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="99%">
<tr>
<td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset">

<div>
Originally Posted by <strong>kevsta112003</strong>
<a href="showthread.php?s=92c472ab6416178eb1b53b0d775857c3&p=1403376#post1403376" rel="nofollow"><img class="inlineimg" src="http://static.overclock.net//img/forum/go_quote.gif" border="0" alt="View Post" /></a>
</div>
<div style="font-style:italic">Well I ran prime 95 for 3 hours and no restarts, so I assume my RAM is stable, although I havent used memtest yet. <br />
<br />
What are safe volts for DDR2 RAM with stock volts listed as 2.0-2.1?</div>

</td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>When I was fiddling with my OC I ran prime95 for 12 hours and it was fine. I then ran Memtest86 and it picked up RAM errors on the first pass on tests 5 and 6. Definitely run Memtest. If you still have an old floppy drive kicking around, just make the memtest bootdisk and you don't have to waste a CD.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
45,674 Posts
BTW, OCCT may quickly shed light on the stability too! Then once you have a stable OC recheck with memtest86.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,737 Posts
<div style="margin:20px; margin-top:5px; ">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px">Quote:</div>
<table cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="99%">
<tr>
<td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset">

<div>
Originally Posted by <strong>C-bro</strong>
<a href="showthread.php?s=92c472ab6416178eb1b53b0d775857c3&p=1403458#post1403458" rel="nofollow"><img class="inlineimg" src="http://static.overclock.net//img/forum/go_quote.gif" border="0" alt="View Post" /></a>
</div>
<div style="font-style:italic">When I was fiddling with my OC I ran prime95 for 12 hours and it was fine. I then ran Memtest86 and it picked up RAM errors on the first pass on tests 5 and 6. Definitely run Memtest. If you still have an old floppy drive kicking around, just make the memtest bootdisk and you don't have to waste a CD.</div>

</td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>I had the exact opposite experience, I did 5 hours of test 8 but failed prime blend in 2 seconds <img src="/images/smilies/confused.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Confused" class="inlineimg" /><br />
<br />
I guess you should run memtest86 then, to be on the safe side
 
1 - 16 of 16 Posts
Top