Overclock.net banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok guys soon i will be changing motherboards out as well as installing Windows 7.

And I cant figure out (or find) any information about software and programs i currently have that i want to have again on my new computer when i swap out the motherboards. (b/c i have to wipe my HDD for W7)

First off im a student who needs my Microsoft Office, I have a full edition of it but it is a 3 time use only CD Key, and i was wondering if it would be like the full version of w7 where if i uninstall it from my current computer, it will free up one of the 3 uses for the CD key? if not, ok, then i need to go buy another copy, so be it. But, if i can salvage one of the uses of the key by uninstalling, that would be so much better and easier.

secondly, I have itunes and A LOT of legally purchased music on this computer, if i change out mobo's, AND wipe my hard-drive, then re-install itunes on the new motherboard, how do i get my songs back? Granted i can just put them on my iphone now so i have them, but still, id like to be able to have them back on my computer. Is there a way to get these songs back once i swap those parts and stuff out?

also same thing with my STEAM or Origin games mainly BF3 and other games? im not sure how that works either

I'm in a real pickle about this and this is the major issue keeping me from just going nuts and swapping mobo's out right now. b/c my computer right now has all of it and i dont want to loose anything yet if i can keep from it.

I HAVE done a full backup of my computer to an exterior portable hard drive and i realize programs are not backed up.

if anyone has any insight into this I'd really appreciate it a lot b/c im really not sure how its gonna work.

·
Registered
2,048 Posts
You will be able to download any games purchased from steam again as long as your CD keys are attached to the account. I believe I tunes is similar.