Overclock.net banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Iconoclast
31,562 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by Juggalo23451 View Post
multiplier is set by the cpu. so you cant change the maximum to go higher
You can get an extra 1x or in some case 2x with i7s and Turbo Boost.

But I have no knowledge of what settings are needed for 22x with the OPs motherboard.

·
Banned
8,570 Posts
Not possible. Turbo mode only enables 1 extra multi with all cores and ht enabled. I think what you are noticing is a bios bug on other peoples.

·
Iconoclast
31,562 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by NCspecV81 View Post
Not possible. Turbo mode only enables 1 extra multi with all cores and ht enabled. I think what you are noticing is a bios bug on other peoples.
That's not the case.

Turbo Mode is really supposed to allow two extra multipliers, as long as three cores are idle (not disabled), and Turbo Boost + all related power management features are enabled (so the idle cores can drop to the more agressive C-states).

The bug is some boards not allowing this to happen, even if properly configured.

·
Programmer
28,696 Posts
22x is a huge multi. i bet they OC Far.

·
Registered
774 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Quote:

Originally Posted by Blameless View Post
That's not the case.

Turbo Mode is really supposed to allow two extra multipliers, as long as three cores are idle (not disabled), and Turbo Boost + all related power management features are enabled (so the idle cores can drop to the more agressive C-states).

The bug is some boards not allowing this to happen, even if properly configured.
Any insight as to what the related power management features are? I saw somewhere you have to enable C1, C2, and C3, however my board only allows me to either keep it on auto, or select C1, C1E, C3, or C6, but not multiple ones at the same time.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BradleyW View Post
22x is a huge multi. i bet they OC Far.
Not when the motherboard can't get past a BCLK of around 220.

·
Registered