Overclock.net banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Subarashii Mortal
1,052 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, my PC specs are in the sign and my problem is that my current UPS which is only 600VA is not able to provide backup for my PC if I'm doing some intensive task.
So, I'm thinking of upgrading my UPS. I haven't decided which one yet, but if you have recommendations, please let me know.

My main concern is that I have no experience with changing batteries for the UPS. After a year or so when I need to change the batteries of the UPS, I want it to be as simple as possible.

So, can you please tell me the last time you changed the batteries on your UPS and how did you do it?

Thanks!

·
EhmayWuntee
1,415 Posts
I am really happy with my CyperPower UPS and I believe they are one of the top brands to get, right up their with the more commonly known APC brand.
You never mentioned what brand your 600va unit is by the way and I didnt see it in the rig builder.

I have a CP1350PFCLCD which is a pure sine wave unit at 1350va or 810w.
If my power goes out and the PC was just sitting at idle, I get something like 23 minutes of run time (maybe a bit more) and settings let you control when it auto shuts down if on battery power.
If gaming or doing something with a higher load and the power goes out I think I can still get 12+ minutes to finish up and shut down.
These times are based on memory, but should be pretty accurate.
Also I like both the unit's LCD screen as well as the widget or whatever they are called that I put in the corner of my monitor to see its status.

I did go with a model higher than needed because I wanted the longer battery run time and maybe a few other features were added too.
At the time, the price wasn't that much more either.
That Newegg link I have above shows it at $180 today.
I believe I paid just under $150 near the end of 2014 so you can likely shop around or wait for a sale, maybe memorial day.