Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Storage Nut
Joined
·
21,109 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
<div style="height:auto;background-color:#000000;border:none;border-collapse:collapse;"><br><div style="text-align:center;"><span style="color:#FFFFFF;font-size:200%;">How to: Initialize And Format A New Disk For Use In Windows</span></div>
<br></div>
<br><br>
For those of you who get a new drive and are wondering why it doesn't show up under your Computer window this is what you have to do.<br><br><b><span style="text-decoration:underline;">You can simply use diskpart:</span></b><br><br><b><span style="text-decoration:underline;">2TB drives and smaller:</span></b>
<ol class="bbcode_list"><li>Open the Start Menu, type <b>diskpart</b>, press Enter</li>
<li>Type <b>list disk</b>, press Enter</li>
<li>Type <b>select disk X</b> (where <b>X</b> is the number your drive shows up as), press Enter</li>
<li>Type <b>clean</b>, press Enter</li>
<li>Type <b>create partition primary</b>, press Enter</li>
<li>Type <b>format quick fs=ntfs</b>, press Enter</li>
<li>Type <b>assign</b>, press Enter</li>
<li>Type <b>exit</b>, press Enter</li>
</ol><br><b><span style="text-decoration:underline;">2.5TB drives and larger:</span></b>
<ol class="bbcode_list"><li>Open the Start Menu, type <b>diskpart</b>, press Enter</li>
<li>Type <b>list disk</b>, press Enter</li>
<li>Type <b>select disk X</b> (where <b>X</b> is the number your drive shows up as), press Enter</li>
<li>Type <b>clean</b>, press Enter</li>
<li>Type <b>convert gpt</b>, press Enter</li>
<li>Type <b>create partition primary</b>, press Enter</li>
<li>Type <b>format quick fs=ntfs</b>, press Enter</li>
<li>Type <b>assign</b>, press Enter</li>
<li>Type <b>exit</b>, press Enter</li>
</ol><br><br><b><span style="text-decoration:underline;">Or you can do it in computer management:</span></b>
<ol class="bbcode_list"><li>Install disk in your PC and boot up.</li>
<li>Once at the desktop open the Start Menu, in the search line, type <b>Disk Management</b> and press Enter</li>
<li>You should get a window popup like this:<br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1242092/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="1242092" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1242092/flags/LL" style="; width: 415px; height: 316px"></a><br>
If so choose either MBR or GPT and click OK. GPT allows you to create more than 4 partitions on the HDD and 2.2TB+ sized partitions as well.<br><br>
If you didn't get the popup then right click and select initialize the newly added drive under where it says the <b>Disk #</b> shown below:<br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1242093/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="1242093" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1242093/flags/LL" style="; width: 596px; height: 193px"></a></li>
<li>Now right click the unallocated space and click create a New Simple Volume shown below:<br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1242094/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="1242094" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1242094/flags/LL" style="; width: 600px; height: 196px"></a></li>
<li>Follow the on screen wizard by clicking Next<br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1242095/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="1242095" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1242095/flags/LL" style="; width: 513px; height: 401px"></a></li>
<li>Specify your volume size, default is fine, and now click Next<br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1242096/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="1242096" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1242096/flags/LL" style="; width: 514px; height: 400px"></a></li>
<li>Assign a drive letter to the drive and click Next<br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1242097/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="1242097" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1242097/flags/LL" style="; width: 515px; height: 400px"></a></li>
<li>Format the partition and name the volume, default settings are fine<br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1242098/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="1242098" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1242098/flags/LL" style="; width: 512px; height: 401px"></a></li>
<li>Now click Finish and you are done<br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1242099/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="1242099" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1242099/flags/LL" style="; width: 513px; height: 399px"></a></li>
</ol>
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,161 Posts
Sean,these kind of primers are great.They help you out of the brain lockup situations. I ask if you could think about giving a primer on drive mapping (and when the mapping can be used for other things besides drives,like pointing to shares).The other night in Novell class the instructor wanted us to copies files from his server,put them in a folder,then map it,most of us just looked at eachother and he said "you guys do know how to map a drive don't you"? Well we all had varing levels of experience with drive mapping and the variations on drive mapping.<br><br>
What I do with these primers is use the snipping tool and save to my storage setup (I have hundreds of pages saved from CISCO) and the ones I want with me I print.At times looking at a paper print is not so hard on my eyes and I can write notes on the paper print.
 

·
Storage Nut
Joined
·
21,109 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1227647/how-to-initialize-and-format-a-new-disk-for-use-in-windows-7#post_16684921" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>PCCstudent</strong> <a href="/t/1227647/how-to-initialize-and-format-a-new-disk-for-use-in-windows-7#post_16684921"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
Sean,these kind of primers are great.They help you out of the brain lockup situations. I ask if you could think about giving a primer on drive mapping (and when the mapping can be used for other things besides drives,like pointing to shares).The other night in Novell class the instructor wanted us to copies files from his server,put them in a folder,then map it,most of us just looked at eachother and he said "you guys do know how to map a drive don't you"? Well we all had varing levels of experience with drive mapping and the variations on drive mapping.<br><br>
What I do with these primers is use the snipping tool and save to my storage setup (I have hundreds of pages saved from CISCO) and the ones I want with me I print.At times looking at a paper print is not so hard on my eyes and I can write notes on the paper print.</div>
</div>
<br>
Like this: <a href="http://www.itechtalk.com/thread3673.html" target="_blank">http://www.itechtalk.com/thread3673.html</a><br><br>
Or like create a junction or symbolic link?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,161 Posts
Sean, the process in the link provided is good.I was thinking of more of an explainiation of when you would want to use drive mapping or directory.folder,file mapping.When does mapping start/stop at the directory,folder,file level perhaps. I seem to think that in order to map a file it had to be in a folder and then at times the newley mapped drive/folder was not recognized (hence that warning "Windows was not able to recognized all network drives")<br><br>
Now junction or synbolic kink, I have not dealt with, or if I have we called it something different.
 

·
Storage Nut
Joined
·
21,109 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1227647/how-to-initialize-and-format-a-new-disk-for-use-in-windows-7#post_16685105" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>PCCstudent</strong> <a href="/t/1227647/how-to-initialize-and-format-a-new-disk-for-use-in-windows-7#post_16685105"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
Sean, the process in the link provided is good.I was thinking of more of an explainiation of when you would want to use drive mapping or directory.folder,file mapping.When does mapping start/stop at the directory,folder,file level perhaps. I seem to think that in order to map a file it had to be in a folder and then at times the newley mapped drive/folder was not recognized (hence that warning "Windows was not able to recognized all network drives")<br><br>
Now junction or synbolic kink, I have not dealt with, or if I have we called it something different.</div>
</div>
<br>
I've not started any of my computer classes yet so I don't really know the technicalities of it, just how to do it lol.<br><br>
Oh and for junctions and stuff check this out: <a href="http://schinagl.priv.at/nt/hardlinkshellext/linkshellextension.html" target="_blank">http://schinagl.priv.at/nt/hardlinkshellext/linkshellextension.html</a>
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,161 Posts
OK,I take this symbolic link discussion to the Novell man.I think he would be best with this,For now I can use my library and get an Idea on the terminology.Thanks
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
When I get to initialize the new HD I get the following<br><br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1292098/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="1292098" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1292098/width/350/height/700/flags/LL" style="; width: 350px; height: 197px"></a><br><br>
Any ideas?
 

·
Storage Nut
Joined
·
21,109 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1227647/how-to-initialize-and-format-a-new-disk-for-use-in-windows/0_50#post_19292025" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>matw</strong> <a href="/t/1227647/how-to-initialize-and-format-a-new-disk-for-use-in-windows/0_50#post_19292025"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
When I get to initialize the new HD I get the following<br><br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1292098/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="1292098" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1292098/width/350/height/700/flags/LL" style="; width: 350px; height: 197px"></a><br><br>
Any ideas?</div>
</div>
change the sata cable? Try another sata port? Do the formatting in disk management?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
The drive is in a caddy which works with other drives so connection checked.<br><br>
The drive is new with no data<br><br>
I have got to the present position with Disk Management<br><br>
I am unable to format<br><br><br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1299359/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="1299359" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1299359/width/350/height/700/flags/LL" style="; width: 350px; height: 152px"></a><br><br>
Win7 64 bit
 

·
Storage Nut
Joined
·
21,109 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1227647/how-to-initialize-and-format-a-new-disk-for-use-in-windows/0_50#post_19317173" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>matw</strong> <a href="/t/1227647/how-to-initialize-and-format-a-new-disk-for-use-in-windows/0_50#post_19317173"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
The drive is in a caddy which works with other drives so connection checked.<br><br>
The drive is new with no data<br><br>
I have got to the present position with Disk Management<br><br>
I am unable to format<br><br><br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1299359/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="1299359" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1299359/width/350/height/700/flags/LL" style="; width: 350px; height: 152px"></a><br><br>
Win7 64 bit</div>
</div>
Have you tried the diskpart method?<br><br>
Are the other drives that work larger than 500GB? Cause the caddy may be limiting you on capacity.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Hi<br>
Have tried diskpart - no luck<br><br>
I had removed the other drives from their caddys and ran the new drive alone with the flash C drive loaded with Win 7 64 bit.<br><br>
All the drives are 1TB. The caddy is just a slide in contained for the HD so there is no capacity issue.
 

·
Storage Nut
Joined
·
21,109 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1227647/how-to-initialize-and-format-a-new-disk-for-use-in-windows/0_50#post_19320606" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>matw</strong> <a href="/t/1227647/how-to-initialize-and-format-a-new-disk-for-use-in-windows/0_50#post_19320606"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
Hi<br>
Have tried diskpart - no luck<br><br>
I had removed the other drives from their caddys and ran the new drive alone with the flash C drive loaded with Win 7 64 bit.<br><br>
All the drives are 1TB. The caddy is just a slide in contained for the HD so there is no capacity issue.</div>
</div>
try using parted magic or another linux live CD to delete the partitions and format it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Hello<br>
I have a desktop with 2 hard disks - 1 tb and 2tb. I installed windows 7 on the 1 tb drive, but the drive 2 is not initialised. I tried following your instructions, both using diskpart and management console. Both times, I get the error, The semaphore timeout period has expired.<br>
Please help, as this is stopping me from using my computer.<br>
thanks
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,773 Posts
Wish I could +rep you. <img alt="thumb.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/thumb.gif"><br><br>
Your a genius <img alt="biggrin.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/biggrin.gif">
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
684 Posts
Thanks Sean <img alt="smile.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/smile.gif">
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
I tried these and finally used the Gpart which I had made live on a Flash Drive earlier. It worked. See <a href="http://gparted.org/liveusb.php" target="_blank">http://gparted.org/liveusb.php</a>
 

·
To The Game
Joined
·
7,658 Posts
Thanks very helpful!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Thank you so very much for sharing your knowledge to a wider audience.<br>
I've spent hours trying (via numerous websites) to get my 2.5" SATA/IDE enclosure with a new HDD to get recognised in Windows 7.<br>
I spent two minutes working through your well organised guide and BINGO !!<br>
Job done!<br>
Can't thank you enough.<br>
Carry on your good work, and by the way....<br>
Tell Microsoft how it's done!<br>
Have a great day,<br>
Franko99
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
I have encountered this problem:<br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/2894438/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="2894438" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/2894438/width/500/height/1000/flags/LL" style="; width: 499px; height: 332px"></a><br><br>
What can I do?
 

·
Storage Nut
Joined
·
21,109 Posts
Discussion Starter #20
USB controller is bad most likely, you probably need a new external enclosure for the drive. Also, just making sure you know based upon reading your pm, because you cleaned the drive I hope you know all data on it is gone.
 
1 - 20 of 26 Posts
Top