Overclock.net banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm completely new to these forums, so I don't know if this is the right place but I *did* do some browsing, honest

Anyway, I have this processor, it's getting kinda dated now but I hear it's good for overclocking. Only...I've never overclocked anything before.

Can someone recommend the settings I should overclock to, and any tips? My rig should be in my sig, note I don't have any extra cooling except stock. It's currently running at 52*C, usually it's at 45 or so.

Sorry if I'm not giving you enough info, total newb both to the forum and to overclocking. Thanks in advance.

·
Premium Member
3,001 Posts
The first thing to start off with overclocking is to get all the software tools you need. I would recommend CPU-Z to validate and check your overclocks, CoreTemp to monitor your temperatures, and IntelBurnTest for quick stability testing, and once you reach settings you like, Prime95 Small FFTs for overnight testing. For a first time overclocker, I started with raising the FSB until it was no longer stable (quick check with 5 runs of the IBT). Then I raised the voltage a notch or 2 and started on FSB again. Always check your temps and do not allow voltages to exceed their recommended values. For safety, I never would go above 1.5v on 65nm chips (yours). Another thing that can affect stability is RAM. If you want to overclock the RAM at a later time, lower the ram divider and keep your ram speed close to stock.

The E6320 is pretty good at overclocking from what I've seen, but I would seriously recommend a new cooler. 52*C at stock speeds leaves you with a very tiny amount of room to overclock.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
K, temperature is now between 42 and 45 according to the readings.

Anyone recommend software to use to overclock?

·
Old school
14,411 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by pinky0926 View Post