Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 109 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
8,208 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I picked up a brand new, sealed 20Gb PS3 on ebay for $405. I knew that I wanted to get the less expensive 20Gb PS3 and swap out the HDD myself. Sure enough there are a few guides online. Special thanks to <a href="http://www.gamersreports.com/article/43/" target="_blank">Gamersreports.com</a> for their guide that inspired me to make my own for OCN.<br><br><br>
Here's what you'll need:
<ul><li>A Notebook 2.5mm SATA HDD. I stuck with the same speed as the stock PS3 hard drive which is 5400RPM (also recommended by Gamersreports).</li>
<li>A small Flathead screwdriver.</li>
<li>A small Phillips screwdriver.</li>
</ul>
Now to replace the stock hard drive. Gamersreports recommended this <a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16822149057" target="_blank">Toshiba 120Gb HDD</a> for $75 on newegg. Not bad, but I wanted more. I ended up going with this <a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136071" target="_blank">Western Digital 160Gb HDD</a> instead for $99. I might not ever need the space but it's good to know that it's there.<br><br>
I was amazed at how small the hard drive was compared to a full size internal one that I'm used to on my computer.<br><br><a href="http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v341/transonic/PS3/IMG_1357.jpg" target="_blank"><img alt="" src="http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v341/transonic/PS3/th_IMG_1357.jpg" style="border:0px solid;"></a><br><br>
It just about the size of an iPod video.<br><br><a href="http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v341/transonic/PS3/IMG_1359.jpg" target="_blank"><img alt="" src="http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v341/transonic/PS3/th_IMG_1359.jpg" style="border:0px solid;"></a><br><br><br>
First thing you'll need to do is lay your PS3 down on its back so you can see the bottom where the hard drive is located. Then use your Flathead screwdriver to pop the plastic hard drive cover off.<br><br><a href="http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v341/transonic/PS3/IMG_1364.jpg" target="_blank"><img alt="" src="http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v341/transonic/PS3/th_IMG_1364.jpg" style="border:0px solid;"></a><br><br>
After that you'll be able to see the hard drive tray. Next you'll need to use the Phillips screwdriver to remove the <span style="color:#0000FF;"><b>blue</b></span> screw.<br><br><a href="http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v341/transonic/PS3/IMG_1369.jpg" target="_blank"><img alt="" src="http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v341/transonic/PS3/th_IMG_1369.jpg" style="border:0px solid;"></a><br><br>
Once that's out pull the metal handle towards you then slide the hard drive tray to the right and pull it out.<br><br><a href="http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v341/transonic/PS3/IMG_1370.jpg" target="_blank"><img alt="" src="http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v341/transonic/PS3/th_IMG_1370.jpg" style="border:0px solid;"></a><br><br>
You'll need to remove the 4 screws that hold the hard drive to the tray. There's 2 on each side. <b><span style="text-decoration:underline;">Be careful not to strip the screws, it can happen easily.</span></b> Then just put your higher capacity hard drive on the tray and put the screw back in. Be sure you don't over tighten the screws.<br><br><a href="http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v341/transonic/PS3/IMG_1371.jpg" target="_blank"><img alt="" src="http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v341/transonic/PS3/th_IMG_1371.jpg" style="border:0px solid;"></a><br><br>
Slide the tray straight back into the PS3.<br><br><a href="http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v341/transonic/PS3/IMG_1372.jpg" target="_blank"><img alt="" src="http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v341/transonic/PS3/th_IMG_1372.jpg" style="border:0px solid;"></a><br><br>
Then slide the tray to the left so it's secure (as pictured in the animated gif below). After that just screw the <span style="color:#0000FF;"><b>blue</b></span> screw in and put the plastic hard drive cover back on.<br><br><a href="http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v341/transonic/PS3/slide.gif" target="_blank"><img alt="" src="http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v341/transonic/PS3/th_slide.gif" style="border:0px solid;"></a><br><br>
Once you start your PS3 you'll get a message saying your hard drive must be formatted. Just hit yes twice and you're all done.<br><br><a href="http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v341/transonic/PS3/IMG_1387.jpg" target="_blank"><img alt="" src="http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v341/transonic/PS3/th_IMG_1387.jpg" style="border:0px solid;"></a><br><br>
It's a really easy mod. For just over $500 I built a 160Gb PS3 which is still way cheaper than the retail price of the 60Gb PS3 at $600. Feel free to leave any feedback or questions. <img alt="" class="inlineimg" src="/images/smilies/biggrin.gif" style="border:0px solid;" title="Big Grin"><br><br>
Also check out my <a href="http://www.overclock.net/playstation/191028-how-play-your-ps3-through-your.html" target="_blank"><b>PS3 Audio/Video Guide</b></a>.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
19,078 Posts
Nice! Neat to see that you can in fact replace the HDD unlike the Xbox360's.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,128 Posts
Wow that's almost too easy.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,976 Posts
Sick. Great Stuff!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,472 Posts
750Gb? <img alt="" class="inlineimg" src="/images/smilies/tongue.gif" style="border:0px solid;" title="Stick out tounge caps"> (Do they make them for notebooks?)<br><br>
Bet you could fit a lot of films on it then.<br><br>
What is the HDD in the PS3 used for anyway?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
415 Posts
everything? lol<br><br>
just wondering, after its formatted is there more information still needed to be put onto the harddrive such as the ps3 os?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,472 Posts
<div style="margin:20px;margin-top:5px;">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px;">Quote:</div>
<table border="0" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" width="99%"><tr><td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset;">
<div>Originally Posted by <strong>volcomx2</strong> <a href="showthread.php?s=fb118d83aa0ea05832d812d721028acf&p=2093400#post2093400"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="http://static.overclock.net//img/forum/go_quote.gif" style="border:0px solid;"></a></div>
<div style="font-style:italic;">everything? lol<br><br>
just wondering, after its formatted is there more information still needed to be put onto the harddrive such as the ps3 os?</div>
</td>
</tr></table></div>
That would be on a chip some place I assume, I can't think of one logical reason to include it on the HDD.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,178 Posts
nice now through in the wifi and card readers. BURN j/k j/k
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
8,208 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
<div style="margin:20px;margin-top:5px;">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px;">Quote:</div>
<table border="0" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" width="99%"><tr><td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset;">
<div>Originally Posted by <strong>volcomx2</strong> <a href="showthread.php?s=fb118d83aa0ea05832d812d721028acf&p=2093400#post2093400"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="http://static.overclock.net//img/forum/go_quote.gif" style="border:0px solid;"></a></div>
<div style="font-style:italic;">just wondering, after its formatted is there more information still needed to be put onto the harddrive such as the ps3 os?</div>
</td>
</tr></table></div>
Nope, it's ready to go right away.<br><br>
Not sure about the rest of you guys but I was going through the settings after formatting and there was an option to update the PS3 software. I clicked it and there was a new version that took a while to download and install. That's about all I did after the swap. Oh and I downloaded [email protected] of course. <img alt="" class="inlineimg" src="/images/smilies/biggrin.gif" style="border:0px solid;" title="Big Grin">
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
736 Posts
<div style="margin:20px;margin-top:5px;">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px;">Quote:</div>
<table border="0" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" width="99%"><tr><td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset;">
<div>Originally Posted by <strong>volcomx2</strong> <a href="showthread.php?s=fb118d83aa0ea05832d812d721028acf&p=2093400#post2093400"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="http://static.overclock.net//img/forum/go_quote.gif" style="border:0px solid;"></a></div>
<div style="font-style:italic;">everything? lol<br><br>
just wondering, after its formatted is there more information still needed to be put onto the harddrive such as the ps3 os?</div>
</td>
</tr></table></div>
Theres a 128 MB nand chip on the back of the motherboard that serves as home for the ps3 os.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,749 Posts
do they make a SSD that would fit the PS3
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,749 Posts
<div style="margin:20px;margin-top:5px;">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px;">Quote:</div>
<table border="0" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" width="99%"><tr><td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset;">
<div>Originally Posted by <strong>ENTERPRISE1701</strong> <a href="showthread.php?s=fb118d83aa0ea05832d812d721028acf&p=2093742#post2093742"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="http://static.overclock.net//img/forum/go_quote.gif" style="border:0px solid;"></a></div>
<div style="font-style:italic;">I wonder if you can bung a raptor in the PS3.However I dont know of a 2.5'' raptor.</div>
</td>
</tr></table></div>
if it is just a standard sata hd shouldn't there be a way to do that. you probably have to take the ps3 apart though.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
736 Posts
<div style="margin:20px;margin-top:5px;">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px;">Quote:</div>
<table border="0" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" width="99%"><tr><td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset;">
<div>Originally Posted by <strong>ENTERPRISE1701</strong> <a href="showthread.php?s=fb118d83aa0ea05832d812d721028acf&p=2093742#post2093742"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="http://static.overclock.net//img/forum/go_quote.gif" style="border:0px solid;"></a></div>
<div style="font-style:italic;">I wonder if you can bung a raptor in the PS3.However I dont know of a 2.5'' raptor.</div>
</td>
</tr></table></div>
some company made a pass-through for the sata on the ps3, so you can hook up a 3.5 inch hd outside of it. I doubt any performance gain would be worth the cost tho.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,989 Posts
here is a rep, I think ill get the cheaper version because of this guide. daaam, wish i could rep you, heres an imaginary one. THANK YOU.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
19,078 Posts
If it's just SATA, why not buy a cord and hook a 750GB to the outside?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,306 Posts
I am just wondering, is this endorsed by Sony at all? Voids anything?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,410 Posts
You can buy a 20GB PS3 get a low price, buy a <a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822152040" target="_blank">120GB</a> hard drive, sell it (The PS3 with 120GB drive) on eBaY and watch people assault you with bids... You just made around $100-$140 in profit, if I'm correct. Repeat this cycle until the PS3 fades out and sell the extra 20GB's for pocket change.
 
1 - 20 of 109 Posts
Top