Overclock.net banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm not an expert on PSUs, but as I understand it, older PSUs that had most of the amps on the 5v rail don't play well with modern systems/mobos that use most of their power from the 12v rail, and vice versa. I have an older system that was using one of those older PSUs and the PSU died--how do I replace that? Are there even PSUs designed to that specification still manufactured and sold? Or do I have to look for an old, used one?

Thanks in advance.

·
Premium Member
4,146 Posts
If it's that old of a system, even a modern PSU should be able to provide the required amperage to the 5V rail. It's not like those old things had massive power requirements anyway. If the motherboard it's going to be connected to has an AT power connector (instead of ATX), make sure that the power connector of the PSU you'll be getting can be connected to an AT plug.

·
Premium Member
65,162 Posts
Agreed, your older system power requires are probably low compared to today's PCs. Any ATX PSU should do.... just make sure your PSU is an ATX unit.

·
Premium Member
16,520 Posts
When using a modern PSU to power an old system make sure that it uses independent voltage regulation, rather than group, or you'll have cross-loading issues. Also make sure that it has at least 130W for combined 5V+3.3V wattage, more if you're going to be putting in a high-end (for the time) graphics card.

·
Premium Member
3,261 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by tenketsu View Post
I'm not an expert on PSUs, but as I understand it, older PSUs that had most of the amps on the 5v rail don't play well with modern systems/mobos that use most of their power from the 12v rail, and vice versa. I have an older system that was using one of those older PSUs and the PSU died--how do I replace that? Are there even PSUs designed to that specification still manufactured and sold? Or do I have to look for an old, used one?

Thanks in advance.