Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,706 Posts
Thanks for the info. I'm going to have to bookmark this to play around with it later.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
424 Posts
It makes my text all burry. Are there anyway to fix this?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,970 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1237470/howto-downsampling-custom-res-2100-x-1314-3840-x-2400-in-dx9-dx10-dx11-directly-selectable-in-the-game#post_16867197" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>wardoc22</strong> <a href="/t/1237470/howto-downsampling-custom-res-2100-x-1314-3840-x-2400-in-dx9-dx10-dx11-directly-selectable-in-the-game#post_16867197"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
It makes my text all burry. Are there anyway to fix this?</div>
</div>
<br>
where.. in windows or in the game?!<br><br><br>
edit: in windows and some games its normal because the resolution is bigger than the native resolution of the device.<br>
so if ya wanna use this in windows increease the font size. in games, skyrim,gta4 or avp3 for example the fonts stay the same size, in some other like bad company 2 they shrink with the resolution change and theres no (to me known) way around it, because its due the code of the application..
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
424 Posts
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1237470/howto-downsampling-custom-res-2100-x-1314-3840-x-2400-in-dx9-dx10-dx11-directly-selectable-in-the-game#post_16870078" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>smex</strong> <a href="/t/1237470/howto-downsampling-custom-res-2100-x-1314-3840-x-2400-in-dx9-dx10-dx11-directly-selectable-in-the-game#post_16870078"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
where.. in windows or in the game?!<br>
edit: in windows and some games its normal because the resolution is bigger than the native resolution of the device.<br>
so if ya wanna use this in windows increease the font size. in games, skyrim,gta4 or avp3 for example the fonts stay the same size, in some other like bad company 2 they shrink with the resolution change and theres no (to me known) way around it, because its due the code of the application..</div>
</div>
<br>
Oh ok, then I'll just stick with my monitors native resolution as it looks best that way. I was just curious.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,970 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
sure.. glad if you are happy with yours.<br>
im very sensitive to aliasing, since dx10/11 its not the same anymore for nvidia cards imo.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,970 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
BUMP<br><br>
this can be very helpful in some games.. i used this in GTA4, Crysis2, The force unleashed 1+2), NFSHP 2010, AVP3 and Deus Ex.<br>
in some cases it may have a great performance impact (look on the benchmarks), beware. in GTA4 for example you need to use a custom iceconfig.ini<br><br>
in some games it decreases the fonts in some games not.. depends on the kind of UI it uses.<br><br>
gues this guide is more for hardcore gamers but like i said.. in some cases it is worth it.. tell me what ya think
 

·
Matcha Soda
Joined
·
1,216 Posts
I followed up a different guide, it allowed me to reach at 3200x1800. I didn't bother going to 3840 because of the performance hit it would have, and the amount of disappointment I would get from my vram.<br>
I know 3200x1800 will have a ridiculous performance hit at some points of time, so I included 2880x1620 as well. Max Payne 3 looks sweet. Can't wait to record a video, but I feel my processor will jump out recording at 3200x1800. Lol <img alt="rolleyes.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/rolleyes.gif"><br><br>
Okay did this. Games like Sniper Elite V2 look AWESOME. It just feels different, the color darkens up a little, and etc. Use with FXAA recommended.<br><br>
A few screenshots from Bulletstorm:<br>
<a href="http://imgur.com/yOJxv,2n6QT,x4Tei,gY0Lq,bicLG,WwGWA" target="_blank">http://imgur.com/yOJxv,2n6QT,x4Tei,gY0Lq,bicLG,WwGWA</a><br><br>
Note: motion looks much better, videos for that will be justice.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,064 Posts
Heh, I found this guide here by chance, basically the same thing but more detailed: <a href="http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=346325" target="_blank">http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=346325</a><br><br>
I was looking around for ways to force antialiasing onto NFS Most Wanted...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,254 Posts
I ran some BF3 at 2880x1620 maxed out, it was, beautiful! I used up all of my vram lmao, but it was unplayable. I dropped to the upper 50's.
<a class="spoiler-link H-spoiler-toggle" href="#"><strong>Warning: Spoiler!</strong> <span class="spoiler-help">(Click to show)</span></a><div class="spoiler-hidden"><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1123715/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="1123715" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1123715/width/350/height/700/flags/LL" style="; width: 350px; height: 197px"></a></div>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,548 Posts
Been doing this for a while now, its pretty good to be honest, some games just look so much better but obviously it requires more GPU power <img alt="biggrin.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/biggrin.gif"><br><br>
TF2 just looks so much better like this, even without any in-game AA settings at all.<br>
Anyway i found this website to calculate aspect ratio and resolutions, its helpful.<br><br>
<a href="http://andrew.hedges.name/experiments/aspect_ratio/" target="_blank">http://andrew.hedges.name/experiments/aspect_ratio/</a><br><br>
Right click image then click on "View Image" then zoom in <img alt="wink.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/wink.gif"><br><br><img alt="kG2Bh.jpg" class="bbcode_img" src="http://i.imgur.com/kG2Bh.jpg"><br><img alt="NNcWu.jpg" class="bbcode_img" src="http://i.imgur.com/NNcWu.jpg"><br><img alt="kG2Bh.jpg" class="bbcode_img" src="http://i.imgur.com/kG2Bh.jpg">
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
890 Posts
I did this around a week ago, using the Guru3d link. I was able to get up to 3840X2160 using auto timings, if I want higher I need to manfully change the timings.<br><br>
I find that this makes the biggest difference for me with CS:GO. I can run the game at 2880X1620 while getting around 70-75 FPS, maxed out with 0 AA (My 550 ti is OC to 1100 on the core, and 2220 on the memory.)<br><br>
make sure you view the images in full screen for the biggest difference<br><br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1126024/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="1126024" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1126024/width/500/height/1000/flags/LL" style="; width: 500px; height: 281px"></a><br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1126025/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="1126025" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1126025/width/500/height/1000/flags/LL" style="; width: 500px; height: 281px"></a><br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1126027/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="1126027" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1126027/width/500/height/1000/flags/LL" style="; width: 500px; height: 281px"></a>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,548 Posts
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1237470/howto-downsampling-custom-res-2100-x-1314-3840-x-2400-in-dx9-dx10-dx11-with-nvidia-cards-directly-selectable-in-the-game/0_100#post_18586971" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>rafety58</strong> <a href="/t/1237470/howto-downsampling-custom-res-2100-x-1314-3840-x-2400-in-dx9-dx10-dx11-with-nvidia-cards-directly-selectable-in-the-game/0_100#post_18586971"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1126027/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="1126027" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1126027/width/500/height/1000/flags/LL" style="; width: 500px; height: 281px"></a></div>
</div>
<br>
Thats a pretty sweet picture that last one is.<br>
Looks so much sharper doesnt it <img alt="thumb.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/thumb.gif">
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
890 Posts
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1237470/howto-downsampling-custom-res-2100-x-1314-3840-x-2400-in-dx9-dx10-dx11-with-nvidia-cards-directly-selectable-in-the-game/10#post_18587946" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>superj1977</strong> <a href="/t/1237470/howto-downsampling-custom-res-2100-x-1314-3840-x-2400-in-dx9-dx10-dx11-with-nvidia-cards-directly-selectable-in-the-game/10#post_18587946"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
Thats a pretty sweet picture that last one is.<br>
Looks so much sharper doesnt it <img alt="thumb.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/thumb.gif"></div>
</div>
<br>
Yes yes it does <img alt="biggrin.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/biggrin.gif"><br><br>
I have also been trying it out with skyrim, with my heavily modded install (60-100 mods I've kinda lost count) I can run the game on high with no AA at 2048X1152 at around 30-40 fps. I'll post some comparison shots up in a bit.<br><br>
Also have you noticed like I have that running games at 2048x1152 or 2880x1620 gives you the same performance as 4-8x AA with better IQ results?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
890 Posts
Alright I took some comparison shots with skyrim. The resolution goes from 1280x720, 1920x1080, 2048x1152, and 2880x1620<br><br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1126248/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="1126248" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1126248/width/500/height/1000/flags/LL" style="; width: 500px; height: 281px"></a><br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1126252/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="1126252" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1126252/width/500/height/1000/flags/LL" style="; width: 500px; height: 281px"></a><br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1126268/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="1126268" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1126268/width/500/height/1000/flags/LL" style="; width: 500px; height: 281px"></a><br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1126303/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="1126303" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1126303/width/500/height/1000/flags/LL" style="; width: 500px; height: 281px"></a><br><br>
You can really see the difference if you zoom in (comparing the 1920x1080 with 2880x1620 pic)<br><br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1126318/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="1126318" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1126318/width/500/height/1000/flags/LL" style="; width: 500px; height: 287px"></a><br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1126319/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="1126319" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1126319/width/500/height/1000/flags/LL" style="; width: 500px; height: 281px"></a>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,387 Posts
I did 2.400 x 1.350 @ 90Hz on my BenQ. Holy crap it looks amazing! Def using it for Skyrim and NFS2012.<br><br>
1080p<br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1126427/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="1126427" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1126427/width/350/height/700/flags/LL" style="; width: 350px; height: 197px"></a><br><br>
1350p (lol)<br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1126430/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="1126430" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1126430/width/350/height/700/flags/LL" style="; width: 350px; height: 197px"></a><br><br>
Both taken at ULTRA settings with no Post AA or MSAA.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,548 Posts
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1237470/howto-downsampling-custom-res-2100-x-1314-3840-x-2400-in-dx9-dx10-dx11-with-nvidia-cards-directly-selectable-in-the-game/0_100#post_18588234" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>rafety58</strong> <a href="/t/1237470/howto-downsampling-custom-res-2100-x-1314-3840-x-2400-in-dx9-dx10-dx11-with-nvidia-cards-directly-selectable-in-the-game/0_100#post_18588234"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
Also have you noticed like I have that running games at 2048x1152 or 2880x1620 gives you the same performance as 4-8x AA with better IQ results?</div>
</div>
<br>
When IQ is reffered to, what exactly doe we mean?<br><div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1237470/howto-downsampling-custom-res-2100-x-1314-3840-x-2400-in-dx9-dx10-dx11-with-nvidia-cards-directly-selectable-in-the-game/0_100#post_18588684" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>xSociety</strong> <a href="/t/1237470/howto-downsampling-custom-res-2100-x-1314-3840-x-2400-in-dx9-dx10-dx11-with-nvidia-cards-directly-selectable-in-the-game/0_100#post_18588684"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
I did 2.400 x 1.350 @ 90Hz on my BenQ. Holy crap it looks amazing! Def using it for Skyrim and NFS2012.<br>
1080p<br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1126427/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="1126427" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1126427/width/350/height/700/flags/LL" style="; width: 350px; height: 197px"></a><br>
1350p (lol)<br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1126430/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="1126430" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1126430/width/350/height/700/flags/LL" style="; width: 350px; height: 197px"></a><br>
Both taken at ULTRA settings with no Post AA or MSAA.</div>
</div>
<br>
When i see your name...it...it reminds me of a film i have from years back <a class="bbcode_url" href="http://uk.imdb.com/title/tt0098354/" target="_blank"><b><span style="text-decoration:underline;">Society</span></b></a> , the one where they all like kinda eat/digest people at messed up partys, its crazy <img alt="tongue.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/tongue.gif"><br><br>
Anyway, your shots looking real neat, if you can manage this for games and dont run out of GPU power (unlikely with 670SLi) then your onto a winner for much better, sharper and generally neater graphics <img alt="biggrin.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/biggrin.gif">
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
890 Posts
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1237470/howto-downsampling-custom-res-2100-x-1314-3840-x-2400-in-dx9-dx10-dx11-with-nvidia-cards-directly-selectable-in-the-game/10#post_18588737" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>superj1977</strong> <a href="/t/1237470/howto-downsampling-custom-res-2100-x-1314-3840-x-2400-in-dx9-dx10-dx11-with-nvidia-cards-directly-selectable-in-the-game/10#post_18588737"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
When IQ is reffered to, what exactly doe we mean?</div>
</div>
I meant Image quality
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,064 Posts
I was wondering: The guide I used says that the resolution increase is limited to the Pixel Clock, and that he had to stay below 165 MHz because of the DVI connection.<br>
That said, I can't go over 2880x1620 as it has a pixel clock of 164.8080 MHz.<br><br>
For those of you running higher resolutions: Are you using standard DVI, Dual Link DVI or DisplayPort?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
890 Posts
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1237470/howto-downsampling-custom-res-2100-x-1314-3840-x-2400-in-dx9-dx10-dx11-with-nvidia-cards-directly-selectable-in-the-game/10#post_18671949" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>Rayce185</strong> <a href="/t/1237470/howto-downsampling-custom-res-2100-x-1314-3840-x-2400-in-dx9-dx10-dx11-with-nvidia-cards-directly-selectable-in-the-game/10#post_18671949"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
I was wondering: The guide I used says that the resolution increase is limited to the Pixel Clock, and that he had to stay below 165 MHz because of the DVI connection.<br>
That said, I can't go over 2880x1620 as it has a pixel clock of 164.8080 MHz.<br>
For those of you running higher resolutions: Are you using standard DVI, Dual Link DVI or DisplayPort?</div>
</div>
The highest I have got up to is 3840×2160. All that I do is put in the res I want and set the refresh rate to 60, I leave the timings on auto (when I tried to do it the manual way the highest I got up to is 2560×1440)<br><br>
The monitor I am using is a BenQ G2222HDH, and I am using a cheap 5 dollar HDMI cable
 
1 - 20 of 32 Posts
Top