Overclock.net banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
well i'm no computer expert.. but i want to know which is easier to setup and cheap... and whats teh difference between them?

·
Premium Member
1,559 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by Projekt

well i'm no computer expert.. but i want to know which is easier to setup and cheap... and whats teh difference between them?

What are you going to be using them for?
if you have DSL or cable internet then you are going to need a router if you want to share it bewtween computers on a network

If you are wanting to make a home network and you are not sharing a cable or DSL connection go with a hub

hub= cheap no set up

router= cost more requires setup.

·
Registered
2,248 Posts
Just what he said, though hubs aren't called hubs ne more, they're called switches. If you find a 'hub' i wouldn't buy it cause its outdated. go for a switch if thats what you want to do. also, routers can be a pain in the ass if you don't know how to configure them.

·
Registered
192 Posts
A hub and a switch are 2 completely differant things. A hub is a "dumb" device as a switch makes logical decisions about where to send packets. Switches are not replacing hubs either (as to my knowledge). Yes, switches are better than hubs but i wouldn't say they are replacing them. Since both have been around fo an equal amount of time. Right now switches and Hubs ARE the same price so you SHOULD go with a switch (like he said) but small hubs are still great for portability. Go with the first post on the hub or router and Broadband.

Broadband = router
Network without internet = switch/hub (go with switch since they are the same price)

·
Linux Guru
5,734 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by Industrial