Overclock.net banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
970 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
[PLEASE MOVE IF IN WRONG SECTION]

Hey guys, im currently 19 yrs old. i graduated HS in 08. went to community college for about 2 weeks and dropped out. i know, dumb move. After working in a kitchen (line cook) for sometime, I have decided that i will not be happy with the money or work if i stay in the restaurant business for the rest of my life. I have decided to go back to community college to get a bachelors in computer science: Software Dev. I figure that i may transfer to UMSL after my 2 years but i know i atleast want the bachelor's degree. They only offer VB, Java, and C++. I know, or rather remember, a little bit of each language. I think that C++ would be a more diverse language to know for the job field but i wanted OCN's opinion as well.

I know that C++ is probably the hardest of the three languages but i have always been good at learning the basics of the language and implement them accordingly. If it is vital to your opinion, i live in Saint Louis and will probably want to stay in Saint Louis with my career.

Thanks guys,
-Weezy

·
Banned
5,000 Posts
Learn C++.NET with MSSQL training. Jobs that require Microsoft training/certs pay a bit more

I'm a freshman in college with a considerable amount of programming experience. A month ago, I decided I want some spending money. 3 days later I landed a job programming C#/ASP.NET sharepoint services.

·
Registered
970 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
just to reiterate, you say learn c++, .net, and mysql.

also, does anyone know a good place to look for a job or internship? i dont start school until fall but id like to know if i want an internship or job, what specs i would have to possess to obtain the position.

·
Aren't this fancy!
7,220 Posts