Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm pretty new to overclocking, and I could use some help.
And, before you ask, yes I used the main tutorial.

But, It doesn't really have to do with the CPU, because, I have that down. I just need help with (SAFELY) overclocking my Ram, and my Graphics card. If any of you guys could give me a detailed tutorial, or instructions, I would GREATLY APPRECIATE IT!

Thanks

·
Premium Member
4,976 Posts
Well, one of the number one rules of overclocking (depending on your motherboard) is that you need to lock your PCI Frequencies and your PCI-Express frequencies. if you can find that, the values should be somthing along the lines of 66/33MHz for PCI and i believe that for PCI-Express it should be 100MHz, but don't take my word for the PCI-Express.

If you don't lock those it could cause various corruptions. HDD, GPU, etc.

·
Premium Member
4,460 Posts
For PCI-E you want to stick close to 100mhz, For AGP/PCI you want it @ 66/33 as posted above. For the ram I would not go above 2.85 with the voltage with good air flow over them. As for your GPU, download coolbits, and use the auto detect option under the advanced menu for you display.

Edit: Try to run your ram as close to 1:1 as you can get it with you CPU.

·
Premium Member
45,674 Posts
There is usually the need to set from Auto or Default to some thing like User, expert or Advanced.

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I don't know why this isn't working, but I can only get my AMD X2 3800 to over clock to 2.35 Ghz... :swearing:

It normally runs at 2.01 Ghz, and I have seen people get a slower processer to certainly run at higher speeds. The main reason I'm shocked too, is because I have a water cooled PC... Any ideas why this isn't working? Oh, and if you wanted to know, my Water Cooling brand is Cooler master, just incase you did.

·
Premium Member
4,976 Posts
Well I would like to know:
  • Have you tested for Stability