Overclock.net banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm planning to build a gaming rig, it's my first time to attempt building one from the ground up. I'm on a budget, too, so I'll be getting a core2duo e7500(although I may try to put a bit more into it and get a e8400, but that's not a sure thing yet).

I'm planning to get 2 gigs of ram. I was initially planning to get 4 gigs, but people told me that in games, you don't really need much RAM as you do a good GPU. And I guess they have a point, especially since I can easily buy an extra 2 gigs of RAM sometime down the road since individually they're not that expensive. So, it's down to what graphics card I'm going to get.

I don't understand specs as much, but I was initially planning to get a Nvidia gtx 260. However, some friends of mine(and people from other online forums) have told me that the Radeon 5770 is way better. After doing more research and forum hopping, I'm pretty much sold on the 5770. But just to make sure, I'd like to ask you guys what you think? Specifically, I'd like to ask someone to try to convince me that the gtx 260 is a better deal than the 5770, just to see if I'm sure about the Radeon card. Thanks!

·
Premium Member
3,352 Posts
the gtx 260 IS more powerful than the 5770, but it also costs more. The 4890 is less than the 260 and is faster than both the 260 and 5770. But the 5770 has dx 11, eyefinity, and will become better as drivers improve.

Also, you are right that the gpu will make a bigger difference vs ram, but a 2x2gb kit of ram is only a tiny bit more than a 2x1gb pack, and the extra 2gigs WILL help.

As for the cpu, you should look into an i5-based setup... they core2's are way overpriced considering their age, and the i5 route may not be more expensive (mobos are very inexpensive and ddr3 ram is the same price as ddr2).

EDIT: welcome to OCN!

·
Registered
2,802 Posts