Overclock.net banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
598 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello

I had a i3 2100 and some MSI motherboard. I had planned to upgrade this pc to a IB once it was out, and so I have ordered an i7 3770k and a Z77 sabertooth. The MSI board does not have a bios update for IB, and I think MSI won't put one out either since it was a cheapo mobo. All the other parts are staying the same: 16gb ram, 6870 graphics card, and a CD/DVD burner.

I have a 320gb hard drive with Windows 7 Professional. I got windows 7 from my school (offered to all students for free).

This is my first time upgrading my computer, so what's the procedure to follow regarding hard drive? Should I perform a clean install? How do I format my hard drive (do I even need to?)?

Thank you!

·
Registered
287 Posts
When swapping out motherboards you always want to do a clean install of the os. The chances of the machine even booting into windows now will be slim. Just boot from the os disc and you will be able to format and install from there.

·
Registered
598 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I just read something on my mom's ipad it says I can reinstall windows on my current pc (the i3 2100, msi mobo) and do a clean install, then just move that drive and put it with my upgraded stuff, and install driverrs. will that work?

edit: should i format first before the new parts arrive or wait until new parts arrive?

im sorry for noob
frown.gif

ima comp sci major but im shabby on computer parts and stuff
smile.gif

·
Premium Member
15,255 Posts
it can be done, drivers will need updating either auto or manually but doesnt always work.. best thing is to do a clean fresh install as you also clean up all the garbage that that has built up from the last install.. start fresh
smile.gif

·
Registered
598 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
would it be okay if i clean the disk now by doing a clean install of windows 7?

or do i do this when i boot the upgraded pc and just boot from the OS disk?

·