Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
194 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
I am considering doing folding for Prime95, and as I am new to folding and the possibility of damage it could cause to my system/processor with such work intensive loads, I wanted to have some opinions once again.

As stated in my signature, and in the thread title, I have my i7 2600K (with HT off) running at 4.9GHz with a voltage of 1.45v~ roughly, PLL is 1.55v, RAM is 1.50v~, rest defaults.

Here's the question, in your opinion (preferably from experienced SB users that is, and possibly SB folding members) would running my CPU at the above speed and voltage for 12-24 hours a day, seven days a week, be dangerous? (depending on when I'm at the computer and using it, as I go to University during the week and such, I'd rather not leave the system alone in the house whilst it's folding)

I have considered the possibility of degradation at such speed and voltage, but I've never experienced degradation before, how might it happen if it does?

Also, I have considered the possibility of throttling the processor performance using ThrottleStop while I have folding activities running (so essentially it disables Turbo and forces the CPU to run at 3.4GHz, whilst reducing the voltage to around 1.31v as well).

Let me know your views, and if this has been posted in the wrong place due to it being more of a folding query then please feel free to move it to the appropriate category. Thanks.

EDIT: Temperatures reach up to 73C by the way, under 4.9GHz at 1.45v~.

·
Registered
1,494 Posts
No it is not dangerous because your temps are under controller. It will degrade the CPU but you probably won't notice a difference before upgrade anyways.

·
Registered
194 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by dseg;15307023
No it is not dangerous because your temps are under controller. It will degrade the CPU but you probably won't notice a difference before upgrade anyways.