Overclock.net banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,001 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok I'm an eager beaver, first i7 I've ever seen in my life and it's mine
. Anyway, I want to know the chances of getting to 4.0GHz at least, since every chip I've seen that's a D0 seems to be able to do 4.0 almost. Anyway, I just want to know some limits for when I get my R3E on Thursday so I don't kill anything on second powerup. The system I'll have is in my sig. Could someone give me a basic run down of the voltages I can adjust and their limits if I want this chip to not die fast? Also what are good temperatures to stay in. Sorry if these questions are vague, I have no experience with i7s.. Thanks!

The batch is 3002A839 if it matters if I can get any input on this.

·
Registered
505 Posts
well i mean... lol are you looking for a benchmarking set up or a 24/7 set up, very different imo.. im currently running

but when i finish my benches ill likely go to 3.8ish

with HT and some good ram, you will never see 100% of 3.8 in most peoples' use

·
Premium Member
3,352 Posts
Getting to 4ghz will be fairly easy, especially with that motherboard
If you haven't already, google around and read up on some overclocking guides. In addition to overclocking tips (i7s are much different than the 775 cpus), they'll tell you what voltages and temperatures are considered safe or normal.

• Rep+
Reactions: LemonSlice

·
Registered
2,297 Posts
191 X 21 shouldn't be too hard. I got there quick & dirty with 1.32 and could of fine tuned that voltage down a bit but didn't bother. I just got my validation and started working on 200 X 21 which I havn't been stable at yet and is really taking a voltage & QPI hike just to get more than a few minutes into prime. I consider 3.8 (181 X 21) my 24/7 and really seems to be a sweet spot with nice clock speed without taking very much juice. I'm at 1.24 and a lot of people are getting lower than that on 930's.