Overclock.net banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all I'll be visiting this site from now on. I just converted my old ass from console to PC. yeah im an ATARI, ATARI1600, Ninitendo,snes,n64,sega,sega genesis,sega cd, sega dreamcast, and all the sony stuff kinda guy...and yes ive owned over the last 20 years all of these systems. Some ive owned 4 times, ya know gotta get gas money so ya sell one cuz you have 4 systems...lol. But i bought a DELL a year ago not knowing anything about PC's and i started playing games on it. I realized i have a piece of crap. I need some help because it would be fun to try to tweak it and add stuff to see if i can turn it around. Plus i stay at home with my kids and im bored out of my mind so i need a hobby. I'm interested in overclocking my CPU and Graphics card but wanted to get some good info before I blow everything up.

·
Registered
867 Posts
Well, with your system specs, I'd say it's pretty decent to start out with (Hell, I wish I had your graphics card). I, for one, don't think it's a 'total' piece of crap, but with a few tweaks and system cleanups, you can make your PC very clean and optimized.

Assuming you bought your PC straight from Dell, I assume you have a motherboard made by Dell, and that means you won't be able to overclock it (sorry).

However, your 6800 GT can be, so you can spend some time on that. Anytime you feel like tweaking your nVIDIA cards, check out RivaTuner.

Oh yes, and welcome!

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Quote:

Originally Posted by Gearbox
Well, with your system specs, I'd say it's pretty decent to start out with (Hell, I wish I had your graphics card). I, for one, don't think it's a 'total' piece of crap, but with a few tweaks and system cleanups, you can make your PC very clean and optimized.

Assuming you bought your PC straight from Dell, I assume you have a motherboard made by Dell, and that means you won't be able to overclock it (sorry).