Overclock.net banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2,031 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We are all tempted to going out and purchasing a tempered glass desk for their neatness factor, but can you trust glass to hold heavy objects? The answer is yes, if you do your research.

Please move down some if you want to get down to recommendations of desks. Also understand this is the research I have found when we first got our glass desks at our business. The research went on for around 3 day, and has about 10 hours of work put into it. I am not a glass expert but have come up with some key deciding factors in glass desks.

Truth is tempered glass has small trade offs for it's strength.
Cons of tempered glass:
* Corners/edges are more likely to fracture, and shatter the desk. (with any type of glass)
* The more in the middle you go (without support frames) the more likely it is to shatter the desk as well (though not as easy as the corners/edges). ( This is true for any type of glass). If your desk has vertical support frames on the middle or if you added them, ignore this.
* Cannot be cut after tempering, and is prone to scratching without a protective layer (most manufacturers apply this protective layer so it isn't a huge issue, tempered glass only~ issue).
* Deep scratches can lead to fractures, as any cut in the tempered glass creates a weak point as tempered glass is reliant on having a flat surface with equal tensile strength across.
* Manufacturers often lie in desks, claiming "tempered" glass but really offering heat treated glass. Be sure your desk says fully tempered glass or safety glass. More on safety glass vs regular fully tempered glass later.

Pro's:
* Shatters into small typically nonthreatening pieces, thus is safer then annealed glass which easily breaks into large sharp slabs capable of cutting skin very easily.
* Is far more thermally resistant. Tempered glass depending on manufacturing can withstand oven temperatures.