Overclock.net banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2,174 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It's me again...sigh
. I need to know how to uninstall my old heatsink and what i need to install a new one. I have looked at my current heat sink and unscrewed all visable screws. I have never done anything like this before so I don't have a clue.

·
Linux Guru
5,734 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by wnewport

It's me again...sigh
. I need to know how to uninstall my old heatsink and what i need to install a new one. I have looked at my current heat sink and unscrewed all visable screws. I have never done anything like this before so I don't have a clue.

The obvious first step is to remove the mounting brackets that hold the HS down, once they are removed pull gently on the HS to see if thermal compound was used (the HS will come right off of the processor) or if they used thermal glue(you will not be able to pull the HS off because it is stuck to the CPU which is being held in with the CPU gate).

Reply as to what kind of bonding they are using then I could help you to clean it up to install the new HS.

For the new HS you will need Arctic Silver 5 Thermal Compound to create a thermal layer between the HS and CPU.

·
Registered
2,174 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
They must have used a thermal compound because it does not come off. How do i get it off? It seems to be stuck on there pretty good.

·
Linux Guru
5,734 Posts
Quote:

They must have used a thermal compound because it does not come off. How do i get it off? It seems to be stuck on there pretty good.

I have fought with the thermal paste before and it is not easy, the recommendations that were given to me were to have the computer run for a while, then while it is on and the paste is heated turn the HS 1 degree at a time very slowly and carefully trying to pull the HS from the CPU, when it is free turn the PC off then clean the HS with asetone and try to carefully clean the top fo the cpu with asetone also.

·