Overclock.net banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2,338 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My new computer is all put together but i have no experience with sata. What do I need to do to get my hard drive to work? It says ntldr not found or something.

·
Administrator
6,696 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by wanderer26

My new computer is all put together but i have no experience with sata. What do I need to do to get my hard drive to work? It says ntldr not found or something.

I think you need some third party drivers or something (tell me if im wrong)

·
Premium Member
3,983 Posts
At the very beginning of a Windows XP install you need to hit F6 when it asks you if you need to install 3rd party or Raid drivers. It will later prompt you for a floppy with the SATA drivers on it. You must have a floppy drive.

·
Registered
2,338 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
it wont let me do anything, i try to hit delete to enter bios or delete for setup and it just keeps going, and no mention of xp install. ntldr is missing or something.

·
Premium Member
3,983 Posts
Is your XP cd bootable? If so reinstall and the first screen that it shows you says at the bottom of the screen something to the effect of "Press F6 if you need to install 3rd Party or Raid drivers."

·
Registered
271 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by digitalphreak

Is your XP cd bootable? If so reinstall and the first screen that it shows you says at the bottom of the screen something to the effect of "Press F6 if you need to install 3rd Party or Raid drivers."

To clarify a bit it's on the loading blue screen before anything is done and it will come up for less then 5 seconds. If you miss it reboot and try again.

Also get the newest SATA drivers from chipset maker.

·
Registered
271 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by digitalphreak
Those arent it. Those are just your chipset drivers. A little different than the SATA drivers.
They include the RAID drivers for that chipset at least acording to the site.