Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
655 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,<br />
I'll be considering buying water cooling once I'm able to rack up some money in the next month or so. It seems confusing and I am a little intimidated by it, so I'm thinking I'd get a kit and it looks like the best kit would be this, <br />
<a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16835108076" target="_blank">http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835108076</a><br />
and I have some questions.<br />
<br />
I read the FAQ, looked at the pictures, but am still a bit confused. With this kit in particular, how does the flow of water work? I assume the pump pumps it from the bottle, to the CPU, and then to the radiator, but I'd just like some clarification of how this kit works.<br />
<br />
Is this kit easily upgradable in the future when I start to learn more about water cooling?<br />
<br />
What do you need to do to your hardware/case before installing everything? (My case has two holes on the top which I know are for watercooling, I believe for the radiator? to be mounted on the top)<br />
<br />
Does this kit include <b>everything</b> you need?<br />
<br />
How do you find leaks?<br />
<br />
Are the parts in this kit all-around decent? Or is it just the best of all the kits but still crap?<br />
<br />
thanks and rep for help <img src="/images/smilies/smile.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Smile" class="inlineimg" />
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,406 Posts
Its very easy to setup/install if you know what you're doing. Just plan out BEFORE, don't plan out while doing it. Thats a very bad habit to have and it will ruin your system (because chances are, it will leak at some point) <img src="/images/smilies/thumb.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Thumb" class="inlineimg" /><br />
<br />
You can upgrade it later on if you need to........yes
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
22,477 Posts
That is a very respectible kit, it has all high quality part's...It is easily upgradable..It is a complete starter kit, it has everything in it to get you going....You can add more water blocks as you go along...I use this cooling fluid it is non-conductive...You have to leak test before you put it in your case and again after you put it in..... <br />
<br />
Here's the non-conductive fluid that I use..<a href="http://www.svc.com/fxpextmb32.html" target="_blank">Fluid XP EXT Extreme Non-Conductive Coolant - UV Midnight Blue 32oz.</a>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,682 Posts
As for leak testing, like you had asked about :<br />
<br />
You need to basically install everything in the comptuter, and then cut all the hose to the lengths you need. and then, you need to uninstall everything (or just take out your mobo and such (so you don't have to drain the system, refill, and such) and hook it up, fill it with fluid, and run it for as long as you'd like.. 24 hrs is probably the best bet, and look to see if it leaks.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
3,481 Posts
Just take your time putting it together and do it right, it's not hard. After you get everything installed start and run the system with the computer off for at least a couple hours. The kit you have chosen is one of the best and will get you closest to the performance of a custom setup.
 

·
SNERP!!!
Joined
·
4,183 Posts
I don't like the rad and I am not a res fan.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
22,477 Posts
<div style="margin:20px;margin-top:5px;">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px;">Quote:</div>
<table border="0" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" width="99%"><tr><td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset;">
<div>Originally Posted by <strong>kevsta112003</strong> <a href="showthread.php?s=92c472ab6416178eb1b53b0d775857c3&p=1403342#post1403342"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="http://static.overclock.net//img/forum/go_quote.gif" style="border:0px solid;"></a></div>
<div style="font-style:italic;">what are the weak points in this kit? What might I consider upgrading from this kit in the future?</div>
</td>
</tr></table></div>
<br>
It's a rather strong from the gate...The one thing you might want to change is the rad...This is the best one going right now.....<a href="http://www.dangerdenstore.com/product.php?productid=256&cat=90&page=1" target="_blank">Danger Den :: Radiators :: Black Ice Series :: GTX Xtreme Series :: Black Ice GTX240</a><br><br>
This is also a good one and cheaper.............<a href="http://www.dangerdenstore.com/product.php?productid=224&cat=86&page=1" target="_blank">Danger Den :: Radiators :: Black Ice Series :: GTS Stealth Radiator :: X-Flow Stealth GTS 120 Black Ice</a>
 
  • Rep+
Reactions: kevsta112003

·
Registered
Joined
·
655 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Thanks for the suggestions. Would those work with the 5/8 tubing in the kit? IT says on the site that they are for 1/2 and 3/8 I think.<br />
<br />
Are their any other good radiators I might consider?<br />
<br />
Oh and are their and good reservoir's that fit in 5.25inch drive bays and would work with the other stuff in this kit? I dont think the one in this kit does and I think it would be easier finding a spot for it in my case.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,120 Posts
You could get a barb that would probably do it but what it comes with its meant to work with 1/2" and 3/8"<br />
<br />
*EDIT* This place sells it cheaper by 10 dollars. <a href="http://www.sidewindercomputers.com/swh2edukit.html" target="_blank">Link</a>
 
  • Rep+
Reactions: kevsta112003

·
Registered
Joined
·
655 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
Ok thanks. When I get WC I think I might set it up like this in my case.<br />
<br />
<img src="http://img98.imageshack.us/img98/2801/1111212109dz3.jpg" border="0" alt="" onload="NcodeImageResizer.createOn(this);" /><br />
<br />
Is this right? What would be ideal given my case?<br />
<br />
Heres a blank pic of my case <a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/ShowImage.asp?Image=11%2D112%2D121%2D02%2Ejpg%2C11%2D112%2D121%2D03%2Ejpg%2C11%2D112%2D121%2D04%2Ejpg%2C11%2D112%2D121%2D05%2Ejpg%2C11%2D112%2D121%2D06%2Ejpg%2C11%2D112%2D121%2D07%2Ejpg%2C11%2D112%2D121%2D08%2Ejpg%2C11%2D112%2D121%2D09%2Ejpg%2C11%2D112%2D121%2D10%2Ejpg%2C11%2D112%2D121%2D11%2Ejpg%2C11%2D112%2D121%2D12%2Ejpg%2C11%2D112%2D121%2D13%2Ejpg%2C11%2D112%2D121%2D14%2Ejpg&CurImage=11%2D112%2D121%2D09%2Ejpg&Description=LIAN+LI+PC%2DA10A+Silver+Aluminum+ATX+Mid+Tower+Computer+Case+%2D+Retail" target="_blank">http://www.newegg.com/Product/ShowIm...ase+%2D+Retail</a>
 

·
SNERP!!!
Joined
·
4,183 Posts
<div style="margin:20px; margin-top:5px; ">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px">Quote:</div>
<table cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="99%">
<tr>
<td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset">

<div>
Originally Posted by <strong>kevsta112003</strong>
<a href="showthread.php?s=92c472ab6416178eb1b53b0d775857c3&p=1403568#post1403568" rel="nofollow"><img class="inlineimg" src="http://static.overclock.net//img/forum/go_quote.gif" border="0" alt="View Post" /></a>
</div>
<div style="font-style:italic">Is this right? What would be ideal given my case?</div>

</td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>I don't know how you plan to get the tubing in your pump to bend like that. You are dealing with a 90 degree angle there and you can't bend the tubing too much or it will kink.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
22,477 Posts
<div style="margin:20px; margin-top:5px; ">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px">Quote:</div>
<table cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="99%">
<tr>
<td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset">

<div>
Originally Posted by <strong>Snerp</strong>
<a href="showthread.php?s=92c472ab6416178eb1b53b0d775857c3&p=1403637#post1403637" rel="nofollow"><img class="inlineimg" src="http://static.overclock.net//img/forum/go_quote.gif" border="0" alt="View Post" /></a>
</div>
<div style="font-style:italic">I don't know how you plan to get the tubing in your pump to bend like that. You are dealing with a 90 degree angle there and you can't bend the tubing too much or it will kink.</div>

</td>
</tr>
</table>
</div> <br />
Right....And also having your rad above the res like that will make it a pain to bleed...I would just hang the rad off the back of your case...Usally it's better to have the res at the highest point to make it easier to bleed....You can do it like that but you will have to leave the tubing on the res extra long so you can pull it out and put it higher then the rad until it is bled...Snerp taught me that one......<img src="/images/smilies/biggrin.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Big Grin" class="inlineimg" />
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
655 Posts
Discussion Starter #14
What's bleeding? I figured I'd put the radiator there because their is pre made holes on the top of the case made for watercooling. Is there a place I could put the resovoir while still being able to keep the radiator on top?<br />
<br />
Also, you cant see it well in that pic, but there is a hole above where I plan to put the pump. I figure I'd take out the cage that I circled in red, and run the tubes through the hole above it which I circled in green. The hole is 1.5inches wide, and 3 inches long. That would work right?<br />
<br />
<img src="http://img527.imageshack.us/img527/5969/1111212110tb8.jpg" border="0" alt="" onload="NcodeImageResizer.createOn(this);" />
 

·
SNERP!!!
Joined
·
4,183 Posts
<div style="margin:20px; margin-top:5px; ">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px">Quote:</div>
<table cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="99%">
<tr>
<td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset">

<div>
Originally Posted by <strong>kevsta112003</strong>
<a href="showthread.php?s=92c472ab6416178eb1b53b0d775857c3&p=1403772#post1403772" rel="nofollow"><img class="inlineimg" src="http://static.overclock.net//img/forum/go_quote.gif" border="0" alt="View Post" /></a>
</div>
<div style="font-style:italic">What's bleeding? I figured I'd put the radiator there because their is pre made holes on the top of the case made for watercooling. Is there a place I could put the resovoir while still being able to keep the radiator on top?<br />
<br />
Also, you cant see it well in that pic, but there is a hole above where I plan to put the pump. I figure I'd take out the cage that I circled in red, and run the tubes through the hole above it which I circled in green. The hole is 1.5inches wide, and 3 inches long. That would work right?</div>

</td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>Nah, you aren't going to fit the D5 in there. You might be able to get a stock DCC in there though, but you'll be running 3/8"ID with that. Unless you modded the barbs.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
655 Posts
Discussion Starter #16
<div style="margin:20px; margin-top:5px; ">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px">Quote:</div>
<table cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="99%">
<tr>
<td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset">

<div>
Originally Posted by <strong>Snerp</strong>
<a href="showthread.php?s=92c472ab6416178eb1b53b0d775857c3&p=1403784#post1403784" rel="nofollow"><img class="inlineimg" src="http://static.overclock.net//img/forum/go_quote.gif" border="0" alt="View Post" /></a>
</div>
<div style="font-style:italic">Nah, you aren't going to fit the D5 in there. You might be able to get a stock DCC in there though, but you'll be running 3/8"ID with that. Unless you modded the barbs.</div>

</td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>Um, English? lol
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
22,477 Posts
Bleeding is getting all the air out of your lines....Your res has a filling plug in it, that is generally where you would take the plug out to get the air out, and also to replenish your fluid level...I will link you to a rad-box to hang one off the back..I try to keep everything as simple as possible...If someone knows a easy way to run the rad on top please let us know...You can make a rad-box if you want to but they are pretty cheap to buy, your choice...<a href="http://www.svc.com/mcb120k-blk-28.html" target="_blank">Swiftech MCB-120 Black 120mm Radbox Kit</a>
 

·
SNERP!!!
Joined
·
4,183 Posts
<div style="margin:20px; margin-top:5px; ">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px">Quote:</div>
<table cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="99%">
<tr>
<td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset">

<div>
Originally Posted by <strong>kevsta112003</strong>
<a href="showthread.php?s=92c472ab6416178eb1b53b0d775857c3&p=1403791#post1403791" rel="nofollow"><img class="inlineimg" src="http://static.overclock.net//img/forum/go_quote.gif" border="0" alt="View Post" /></a>
</div>
<div style="font-style:italic">Um, English? lol</div>

</td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>How about links instead? <img src="/images/smilies/wink.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Wink" class="inlineimg" /><br />
<br />
<a href="http://www.dangerdenstore.com/product.php?productid=135&cat=23&page=1" target="_blank">http://www.dangerdenstore.com/produc...&cat=23&page=1</a><br />
<br />
Only thing is it uses 3/8"ID tubing (smaller) rather than 1/2"ID tubing (larger and what is recommended)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
655 Posts
Discussion Starter #19
Ok thanks, So with that would I need to buy a complete new rad or could I just take off the box on the rad that comes with the kit and screw the PCI one on?<br />
<img src="http://images10.newegg.com/NeweggImage/productimage/35-108-076-05.jpg" border="0" alt="" onload="NcodeImageResizer.createOn(this);" />
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
22,477 Posts
<div style="margin:20px; margin-top:5px; ">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px">Quote:</div>
<table cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="99%">
<tr>
<td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset">

<div>
Originally Posted by <strong>kevsta112003</strong>
<a href="showthread.php?s=92c472ab6416178eb1b53b0d775857c3&p=1403807#post1403807" rel="nofollow"><img class="inlineimg" src="http://static.overclock.net//img/forum/go_quote.gif" border="0" alt="View Post" /></a>
</div>
<div style="font-style:italic">Ok thanks, So with that would I need to buy a complete new rad or could I just take off the box on the rad that comes with the kit and screw the PCI one on?<br />
<img src="http://images10.newegg.com/NeweggImage/productimage/35-108-076-05.jpg" border="0" alt="" onload="NcodeImageResizer.createOn(this);" /></div>

</td>
</tr>
</table>
</div> Yeah you can put whatever rad on the rad-box that you want to..<img src="/images/smilies/thumb.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Thumb" class="inlineimg" />
 
  • Rep+
Reactions: kevsta112003
1 - 20 of 54 Posts
Top