Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
747 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The motherboard is in my sig.

I have a Sennheiser HD 515 at the moment for headphones and Logitech LS2.1 speakers. (I use the headphones more though).

I play Bad Company 2 at the moment and plan on getting Battlefield 3 when it releases. I've heard that the sound quality is meant to be really good so I have started wondering about a soundcard. Music I listen to ranges from 70s rock (Led Zeppelin etc) to old school rap if that makes a difference.

Will I notice a difference with my current audio set-up?

Will the choice of soundcard affect Skype/teamspeak etc?

I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to sound related stuff so any help is greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
2,027 Posts
Well, he might notice an improvement but you'll always wonder how it could perform with some high quality headphones/speakers. I just don't see the logic spending $100-$200 on a good sound card for $40 headphones and $30 speakers.

·
Registered
358 Posts
Yes, you should consider getting one. I notice alot of different when I purchased my sound card. Although, it only cost $50 the sounds were alot sharper and I hear sounds in songs that wasn't there before. Likewise for gaming.

·
Probably sleep deprived
5,585 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iceman23;13008450
Hmm, I probably wouldn't spend any money on a good sound card unless I upgraded those headphones/speakers.
Your kidding right?
A soundcard can make just about any headphones sound better.
And the 515s are some damn good headphones.
They are far from the best, but they are still fantastic.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iceman23;13008885
Well, he might notice an improvement but you'll always wonder how it could perform with some high quality headphones/speakers. I just don't see the logic spending $100-$200 on a good sound card for $40 headphones and $30 speakers.
An ASUS Xonar DX or a D1 ($90) would be worth every penny for him.