Overclock.net banner

Is it safe to use Coollaboratory Liquid Pro between the CPU and copper plate?

1870 19
I have a Coolermaster water cooling and the Intel 11th Gen.
Is it safe to use the liquid pro between the CPU and the copper plate of the water cooling?

My other option is Gelid GC-Extreme thermal paste.

Thanks.
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

· Newb to Overclock.net
5,172 Posts
After a few weeks, you may notice alloying to the copper plate. Just sand it smooth, but leave a layer of the alloy and it should be good forever.

· Registered
891 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
After a few weeks, you may notice alloying to the copper plate. Just sand it smooth, but leave a layer of the alloy and it should be good forever.
Does the liquidPro thermal paste remove the fine etching on the CPU plate? i.e., the model, and other details?

· Newb to Overclock.net
5,172 Posts
Does the liquidPro thermal paste remove the fine etching on the CPU plate? i.e., the model, and other details?
CLU and conductonaut has done that on my CPUs. I'm sure CLP will too.

· Iconoclast
34,107 Posts
Bare copper will alloy with gallium and can cause liquid metal TIMs to 'dry up' over time.

If I want to use these TIMs on bare copper, I try to make sure the alloying process is already well underway before final mounting, by applying a layer of the liquid metal to the clean copper surface, heating it, letting it sit a while, wiping away excess, then applying another layer. Depending on how rough the surface was I might do this four of five times over the course of a week, with a light burnishing before applying the the final coat and mounting it to the part.

Nickel plated copper doesn't have the alloying issue, but most liquid metal TIMs will still stain a nickel plated heatspreader. You should still be able to read the etching on the part after wiping it off, but you'll probably be able to tell you used liquid metal on it.

· Registered
891 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·