Overclock.net banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
178 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
looking at my system specs, (which btw arnt going to be 100% accurate)<br />
my case be large enough to fit a dual socket (probly AM2) mobo with 2x Geforce 7950 GS2 cards (or first true Quad GPU setup) with a soundcard and pvr/tunner card?<br />
<br />
im thinking probly not, I didnt have a problem untill i deciced on dual socket, which is what i wanted to do in the first place but couldent untill the new SLI-Mach II GT came out, and yes i know this is an expensive set up so no need to remind me lol<br />
<br />
the ting is the Graphics cards, and the colling involved with them, I figure it might be fine but might not fit<br />
<br />
I have a solution though, get a daughterboard, with dual x16 pci express buses or i could just custom wire from card to the slot? that shouldnt be so hard , link a slot angular expect more complex<br />
<br />
that would aloow me to make a separate compartment for the cards below the phase change, aloowing me to make a custom colling system for them
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
24,372 Posts
good luck finding a motherboard that can accomodate two CPUs, two high-end video cards (don't get the 7950GX2 with DX10 cards coming in November), and two PCI cards. That's the bigger challenge than the case.<br />
<br />
As long as the motherboard is ATX, it's restricted in size, and it should fit the case.<br />
<br />
If you want to fit that phase unit in there also, then yes, you might need a (much) bigger case, something like the ThermalTake Mozart TX.<br />
<br />
I don't think modding your video cards like that is a good idea... I am guessing you'll loose bandwidth on the PCI-E busses. If yuo awnt to mod to create space, I'd be looking at that soundcard and TV Card
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,501 Posts
isn't that called: Socket F ?<br />
<br />
<a href="http://www.alternate.nl/html/shop/productListing4C.html?cat1=16&cat2=335&cat3=0&tgid=130&treeName=HARDWARE&Level1=Moederborden&Level2=Socket+F&" target="_blank">http://www.alternate.nl/html/shop/pr...vel2=Socket+F&</a><br />
<br />
no problems finding these <img src="/images/smilies/tongue.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Stick Out Tongue" class="inlineimg" />
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
178 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
your right, I hadent even thought of moving thouse instead, and yeah im guesd the bandwith would be a problem, the question is, sence im using phase on the CPU'(s), will air be enough for graphics and everything else?<br />
<br />
also, are their daughterboards with pci slots?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
24,372 Posts
Nope, socket F is not the new 4x4 platform that AMD will come yet.<br />
<br />
Socket F is a server platform, mostly for Opterons and so on. Nice, but won't overclock.<br />
<br />
I am not sure about daugherboards and so on. Again, I am more concerned about the mobo than the case regarding space for all the bits.<br />
<br />
You sure you want to go phase on two CPUS? I think you'll have plenty speed anyways. Plus, I first have to see about overclockability of the platform before investing in phase.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
178 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
<div style="margin:20px; margin-top:5px; ">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px">Quote:</div>
<table cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="99%">
<tr>
<td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset">

<div>
Originally Posted by <strong>Blowie</strong>

</div>
<div style="font-style:italic">isn't that called: Socket F ?<br />
<br />
<a href="http://www.alternate.nl/html/shop/productListing4C.html?cat1=16&cat2=335&cat3=0&tgid=130&treeName=HARDWARE&Level1=Moederborden&Level2=Socket+F&" target="_blank">http://www.alternate.nl/html/shop/pr...vel2=Socket+F&</a><br />
<br />
no problems finding these <img src="/images/smilies/tongue.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Stick Out Tongue" class="inlineimg" /></div>

</td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>thanks but those are for Intel's LGA 775 Socket (think thats the right one)<br />
<br />
btw do any of those even have dual 16x PCI Express?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
178 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
arghh i keep missing posts<br />
<br />
yeah im shure, <br />
<br />
whats 4x4? anyway, I thought AMD was going true quad core? whats the 4x4 deal? I mean I heard the new quad core opterons where here, did I hear wrong?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
24,372 Posts
As far I nkow the only Quad Core CPU that's coming soon is the Kentsfield (thus Intel).<br />
<br />
The last Opterons that came out are dual core for socket AM2. Have not seen any quad core yet<br />
<br />
Socket F is AMD's server platform, for Opterons. However, since it's server, there will be no overclocking capabilities. Also, I believe 4x4 is a dual CPU AMD platform using two Dual Core CPUs. I am not sure about the technical details... check here: <a href="http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/cpu/display/20060626004842.html" target="_blank">http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/cpu/dis...626004842.html</a><br />
<br />
Obviously, when Quad Core AMD CPUs come out, then a dual CPU, total of eight cores, is easy to imagine.<br />
<br />
As far I know, the first AMD Quad cores come out by the end of the year.... but not sure about that<br />
<br />
These are the AM2 Dual Core Opterons:<br />
<a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.asp?Submit=ENE&N=2010340343+50001028+1302820275+1051720996+1050706979&Subcategory=343&description=&Ntk=&srchInDesc=" target="_blank">http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...k=&srchInDesc=</a><br />
<br />
And for Socket F<br />
<a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.asp?Submit=ENE&N=2010340343+50001028+1302820275+1051722777&Subcategory=343&description=&Ntk=&srchInDesc=" target="_blank">http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...k=&srchInDesc=</a><br />
<br />
I would wait for several months to see what AMD really will ship out.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
178 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
<div style="margin:20px;margin-top:5px;">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px;">Quote:</div>
<table border="0" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" width="99%"><tr><td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset;">
<div>Originally Posted by <strong>Chozart</strong></div>
<div style="font-style:italic;">As far I nkow the only Quad Core CPU that's coming soon is the Kentsfield (thus Intel).<br><br>
The last Opterons that came out are dual core for socket AM2. Have not seen any quad core yet<br><br>
Socket F is AMD's server platform, for Opterons. However, since it's server, there will be no overclocking capabilities. Also, I believe 4x4 is a dual CPU AMD platform using two Dual Core CPUs. I am not sure about the technical details... check here: <a href="http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/cpu/display/20060626004842.html" target="_blank">http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/cpu/dis...626004842.html</a><br><br>
Obviously, when Quad Core AMD CPUs come out, then a dual CPU, total of eight cores, is easy to imagine.<br><br>
As far I know, the first AMD Quad cores come out by the end of the year.... but not sure about that<br><br>
These are the AM2 Dual Core Opterons:<br><a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.asp?Submit=ENE&N=2010340343+50001028+1302820275+1051720996+1050706979&Subcategory=343&description=&Ntk=&srchInDesc=" target="_blank">http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...k=&srchInDesc=</a><br><br>
And for Socket F<br><a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.asp?Submit=ENE&N=2010340343+50001028+1302820275+1051722777&Subcategory=343&description=&Ntk=&srchInDesc=" target="_blank">http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...k=&srchInDesc=</a><br><br>
I would wait for several months to see what AMD really will ship out.</div>
</td>
</tr></table></div>
yes, definatly wait, and if you ask me the 4x4 deal is just a cover up, Intel has been kicking but and AMD knows it, in fact they let it happen, instead of competing they just took the fx-60 increased it 200mhz and added ddr2 support, i mean come on, thats their "flag chip" , no, I think theve been way to quite and besides, 4x4 seems an easy concept so why is it not out already?<br><br>
ps, amd makes CPU's not mobos, i dout they'd want to deal with the competition from Asus and DFI<br><br>
of course they did buy out ATI, why?? who knows lol
 
1 - 9 of 9 Posts
Top