Overclock.net banner

Is something wrong with my Intel E7400?

4759 32
Hello all.

I'm having a issue with my E7400, I don't know why its running so hot, or if the temp its running at is normal?

I'm still very new to over-clocking and just built myself a new pc.
I'm running everything with stock coolers.

I've over-clocked the E7400 to 3Ghz. with 286fsb, it runs at 35°C idle, and under a stress test in prime95, it hits 57°C-60°C

The Voltage is set to auto in the bios, so when idle its at 1.264V, and under stress, 1.272V.

I tried over clocking it to 3.5, at 333fsb (3.5ghz) and its idle temp was around 33C and under stress it reached 66C.

But i wanted to know 2 things:

1. I use the asus AI tools that controls the fan speed and shows load and temps, and that's what i been using to monitor temps, since its a asus board. But when i look at the temps with "real temp" or "core temp" they are about 10C higher. so which one should i trust?

2. what is the "safe" temp range for this processor, and what is its maximum? since I'm still new to over-clocking i dont know what's safe and what's not, since the processor doesn't tell me.

Any help is welcomed, and since i have only changed the fsb speed. i'm not sure if i must change anything else.
  • Rep+
Reactions: Verrater
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

· Registered
299 Posts
I am running an e7400 on stock cooling for the moment. I have a zalman CNPS9700 on the way and will be using artic silver. I am also probally going to lap my cpu and heatsink. My temps right now are 33 33 at idle and will get into the high 60's while running cpuburn-in. Intel says 74c is the max. I wouldn't go above 70c. That is why I went ahead and sprung for the new gear on the way.

· Registered
299 Posts
Phinix do you know what the VID of your chip is? I am trying to figure out what mine is but am having no luck since i'm running Linux

· Registered
299 Posts

· Registered
299 Posts