Overclock.net banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
687 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm folding on an i7 2600k (just normal folding on Windows), and I am getting about a 6 minute TPF...

It's running at 4.8 GHz with 8GB of DDR3 1600 MHz RAM (CL9).

I started the client at 8:00 this morning and saw a really high TPF, and just finished the WU in the last hour, which gave me 3k points. (That's a total of 6 hours for 3000 points.)

12k PPD seems abyssal for a 2600k. Is there something wrong with my CPU?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
687 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by FireAroundTheBrim;15356438
I was getting 2:55 tpf on my 2600k at 4.8, 2133 4gb, and win7. For smp.
Does the client use 100% usage?

Sent from my Thunderbolt 4G using Tapatalk.
With 16GB at 1333, I was getting something around 3 Minutes, about a week ago. I don't know what happened. And yeah it is.
Quote:
Originally Posted by arvidab;15356465
What project number is it? Folding uninterrupted for most of the time? Loading all cores to 100%? Not down clocking issue, I don't know if that would happen to your @H100 but as a thermal protection sometime the speed could go very low to protect the CPU?
Can't remember the project number at the moment unfortunately. Folding interrupted for all of today. Temps at max hit 72C, everything is running at full speed...
Quote:
Originally Posted by omega17;15356473
Can you post a copy of the FAHlog.txt so we can have a look-see please?
thumb.gif
I'll do that when I get home (I'm at work at the moment).

Thanks for the quick replies!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
687 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
FAH Log

There ya go. There's some Fermi folding happening too (yesterday), disregard that...

Edit: I put my other two sticks of RAM in my machine, now I have 16 GB running at 1333 MHz. I'm still getting a really bad TPF/PPD, but I also ran a SuperPi and it completed in just over 8 seconds at 4.6 GHz, which is within reason.

So I'm thinking this is a FAH problem, just not sure what it is...
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
46,121 Posts
Looks like the SMP slot killed itself after 4% (at 3:44), then restarted again nine hours later (at 12:04).

However, once it restarted, it has a TPF of 4:05, which is a PPD of ~20k, which is much mroe in line with what a 2600k is capable of.

Honestly, I say remove the SMP slot from the v7 client, and use the atandalone v6 SMP client instead:
http://www.overclock.net/folding-home-guides-tutorials/682249-windows-7-setting-up-smp-client.html

The logs are easier to interperet, plus it'll be very clear if it's no longer running.
wink.gif
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
687 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by zodac;15367295
Looks like the SMP slot killed itself after 4% (at 3:44), then restarted again nine hours later (at 12:04).

However, once it restarted, it has a TPF of 4:05, which is a PPD of ~20k, which is much mroe in line with what a 2600k is capable of.

Honestly, I say remove the SMP slot from the v7 client, and use the atandalone v6 SMP client instead:
http://www.overclock.net/folding-home-guides-tutorials/682249-windows-7-setting-up-smp-client.html

The logs are easier to interperet, plus it'll be very clear if it's no longer running.
wink.gif
I'll do this when I get home-- Thanks again, Zodac!
thumb.gif
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
921 Posts
I just started having the same issue yesterday. went from @40k ppd to 4,334 ppd.
running 5.0ghz @4.8v and 1866 mhz 16gb ram.
been on the same wu for 2 days now.
issues started after updating nvidia drivers. now one gpu crashes constantly and if I run both computer slows to a crawl
 
1 - 10 of 10 Posts
Top