Overclock.net banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a Cooler Master hyper 212 plus and the cpu im running is the AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE.

On HW monitor it says my cpu temps are at 26 min, and 31 max.

Are these temp readings bad, average, or very good?

·
Registered
628 Posts
they are really good. the only temp that really matters is when your computer is under load (working its hardest) because that is the hottest your cpu will ever get.

amd processors, AMD's minimum safe recommended temp is 55*C and their max safe temp I think is around 75*C but everyone usually stays between 55 and 63

I own a hyper 212 on my phenom 955 I hit 58*C under load, but I also have it overclocked to 4.3ghz.

your temps are super low, your should give overclocking a try.

heres the guide that I followed.

http://blogs.amd.com/play/2009/04/22/overclocking-101-with-the-amd-phenom-ii-x4-955-black-edition-processor/

side note: voltage is what can decrease the life span of your CPU if you put alot into it in your case 1.7v would be the max, personally I dont go past 1.6 but you may not even need to increase it at all to ge the overclock that you want. I can overclock my 955 to 3.8ghz on the stock voltage.

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
UPDATE: So I my idle temps are now at around 28-29C and when through stress testing (prime 95 and intel burn test) they are at around 43-45C

How good are these temps? and how much do you think i could overclock my cpu?

·
Riding on the edge
3,261 Posts
side note: voltage is what can decrease the life span of your CPU if you put alot into it in your case 1.7v would be the max, personally I dont go past 1.6 but you may not even need to increase it at all to ge the overclock that you want. I can overclock my 955 to 3.8ghz on the stock voltage.[/QUOTE]

I'm curious where you come up with 1.6-1.7v?

General rule for Vcore is 1.5v safe for 24/7 use and with good cooling 1.55v