Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 93 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
866 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well the time is almost upon me when I'm gonna start buying everything for my new rig! I can then just use this Dell to fold on the side.
Here is the run down of my rig. If there is anything that is missing, could you please point it out to me.
  • 19" Hanns-G HW191DP Widescreen Monitor w/3 Year Warranty,
  • AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ 2.2 GHz (Skt AM2),
  • MSI K9A Platinum w/ATI Xfire Xpress 3200 Chipset, PCI-E x16 and SATA II,
  • 2GB (2X1GB) CorsairTwinX XMS2, DDR2-800, PC6400, CAS 5-5-5-12,
  • Sapphire ATi Radeon X1800XT GPU w/512 MB of GDDR3 RAM,
  • 500W Xclio X12S4P2 SLI Goodpower, w/12cm Fan, Dual 12v Rails,
  • 250 Gb WD Caviar SE16, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 16MB Cache,
  • NZXT Trinity Black Midi Tower Case with side window,
  • Saitek (PZ08AU) Pro Gamers Keyboard - Backlit with Separate Programmable Numeric Pad,
  • Samsung SH-S182DB/BEBN Black 18x18±R Dual Layer DVD±RW Writer,
  • Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro (Courtesy of frostbite for £10)
All in all this is gonna cost me (not all personally, most of it is for B'Day and Christmas) in total £857/$1632 (at todays exchange rate), so it's cheap *twitches*.

I have a mouse, and the OS to make it fully functional, and another DVD±RW drive. Please tell me if theres anything I can improve too (with absolute minimal cost increase, as I'm on an extremely tight budget).

Thanks a load guys!!
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,685 Posts
Any particular reason you picked that mobo and not something made by the big boys (DFI, ASUS, Gigabyte)?

I'm just wondering, not really critizing.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
866 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Quote:


Originally Posted by Kamakazi
View Post

Any particular reason you picked that mobo and not something made by the big boys (DFI, ASUS, Gigabyte)?

I'm just wondering, not really critizing.

Thanks for the heads up, I forgot about looking into a DFI board


Quote:


Originally Posted by Chozart
View Post

Miss mouse...

But I have more comments about the rig itself...

1) why not Core 2 Duo
2) Get a better PSU
3) Why the X1800 and not an X1950PRO or so.. possibly an X1900XT
4) Motherboard? Why not a better one

I am checking prices ...and gathering examples for the above.

Intel can kiss my ass, PSU is temporary, X1950PRO is much too expensive, and I'm looking into a DFI mobo now.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,847 Posts
Chozart is correct, a Core 2 Duo rig would be good for you. It would be good for anyone. Simple fact is: C2D kicks the crap out of anything AMD have to offer right now.
 
  • Rep+
Reactions: jNSKkK

·
Registered
Joined
·
866 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Quote:


Originally Posted by Chozart
View Post

X1950PRO is cheaper than the X1800


http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=481911 £131.00

Why the grudge against Intel? Should not just performance count?

Yeah, but that GPU hasn't got 512MB memory, and that is what I need. Which one is better in terms of FPS and quality in my games?

And the grudge against Intel is that they are more designed for multitasking rather than gaming, and I don't really trust Intel.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,737 Posts
Quote:


Originally Posted by jakeo772005
View Post

Yeah, but that GPU hasn't got 512MB memory, and that is what I need. Which one is better in terms of FPS and quality in my games?

And the grudge against Intel is that they are more designed for multitasking rather than gaming, and I don't really trust Intel.

You've been out of the loop...

C2D changed everything
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
866 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
I mean, how much are C2Ds, and a good motherboard then, because I can't afford to spend ANYTHING else.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,685 Posts
The fact is, if you want to go AMD, just because you do, then that is what you should do. Personal choice, you might be losing a bit in terms of performance, but if it makes you happy inside, then go for it.

While I don't know ATi I am sure a 1900 anything out performs an 1800 pretty much anything.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
45,674 Posts
Quote:


Originally Posted by boredom
View Post

You've been out of the loop...

C2D changed everything

Seems like Intel getting tech from AMD changed everything
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,737 Posts
Quote:


Originally Posted by jakeo772005
View Post

I mean, how much are C2Ds, and a good motherboard then, because I can't afford to spend ANYTHING else.

It should cost the same as the AMD rig you put together
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,685 Posts
Quote:


Originally Posted by Chozart
View Post

PCU

Chozart is this some sort on new PC hardware you have created, I mean you are God and you can do such things, its just you must share it with the rest of it, especially if it improves 3dMark scores.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
866 Posts
Discussion Starter #18
Boredom, Chozart, do you both have MSN?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
866 Posts
Discussion Starter #19
I am so confused now, I really don't know what to do anymore.
Right. I want to play game like BF2 and FsX at FULL settings, and it be running with NO glitches at all. What would be the best Mobo, CPU, and GPU?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,847 Posts
Well the best for your budget would basically be what boredom suggested..
 
1 - 20 of 93 Posts
Top