Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
699 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Intel® Desktop Board DG965WHMKR<br />
<br />
ok so i just got this intel bundle and it comes with this mobo and i was wunderin if its any good?<br />
<br />
im going to be running an e6300 on it and i dont rly see a need to OC it but does that mobo OC well at all?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,996 Posts
no, intel boards don't OC well, I recommend the <a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813131045" target="_blank">Asus P5B-deluxe</a>.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
699 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
is there such a thing as a mobo for an e6300 that supports just 184pin DDR ram? i thought i saw one somewhere but cant seem to find it. I would prefer jsut to keep the 2 gigs of PC3200 400mhz DDR that i have atm.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,996 Posts
no, all of the Conroe/Allendales need 240pin DDR2 RAM.<br />
i'm guessing <a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820231060" target="_blank">this</a> is in your price range.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
699 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
your saying one of these mobo's dont support DDR ram?<br><br><a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.asp?Category=20&N=2010200280+1070509908+1070622728+1072307531&Submit=ENE&SubCategory=280&Local=y" target="_blank">http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...ry=280&Local=y</a><br><br>
out of those 3 mobo's can somebody tell me which one would be best/best for OCing?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,737 Posts
They all have VIA chipsets.... I'm pretty sure they won't OC very well, VIA is more known for being budget chipsets than great OCers
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
699 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
ok... then can you guys tell me what the best selection of Mobo/Ram there is to go with my e6300? Give me the high price range parts then the mid pricerange if you could. thnx <img alt="" class="inlineimg" src="/images/smilies/smile.gif" style="border:0px solid;" title="Smile">
 

·
Goodbye
Joined
·
10,269 Posts
ASRock makes a motherboard for core2duo that handles DDR ram but it's basically a P.O.S so I wouldn't go for it.<br><br>
Here's what I'd suggest.<br><a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820227126" target="_blank">http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227126</a><br><a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813128017" target="_blank">http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128017</a>
 

·
Goodbye
Joined
·
10,269 Posts
Here's the ASRock motherboard I was talking about.<br><br><a href="http://www.asrock.com/product/775Dual-VSTA.htm" target="_blank">http://www.asrock.com/product/775Dual-VSTA.htm</a><br><br>
*shivers with fear*
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
24,372 Posts
High range:<br>
MoBo: <a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813131045" target="_blank">ASUS P5B Deluxe Socket T (LGA 775) Intel P965 Express</a> $184.99<br>
RAM: <a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820231065" target="_blank">G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)</a> $299.99<br><br>
Budget:<br>
MoBo: <a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813128017" target="_blank">GIGABYTE GA-965P-S3 Socket T</a> $115.99<br>
RAM: <a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820231063" target="_blank">G.SKILL 1GB DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)</a> $149.99<br>
or:<br><a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820231064" target="_blank">G.SKILL 1GB (2 x 512MB) DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)</a> $164.99<br><br>
The single stick makes it easier to add more in the future....
 
  • Rep+
Reactions: specops

·
Registered
Joined
·
699 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
thnx 4 the help guys keep em coming if you got any other ideas
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
24,372 Posts
Right now we've been focusing on the P965 Express chipset boards. Aer you planning Crossfire or SLI? In that case a 975X based borad might be better... let us know.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
699 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
<div style="margin:20px; margin-top:5px; ">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px">Quote:</div>
<table cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="99%">
<tr>
<td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset">

<div>
Originally Posted by <strong>Chozart</strong>

</div>
<div style="font-style:italic">Right now we've been focusing on the P965 Express chipset boards. Aer you planning Crossfire or SLI? In that case a 975X based borad might be better... let us know.</div>

</td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>good point^<br />
<br />
i completely forget about crossfire... <br />
<br />
yes i think i would like to go crossfire in the future or atleast have the option so could you show me the best/med price range for the crossfire boards? thnx again<br />
<br />
@chozart: Also i was thinking i would just keep the ram i have and get a mobo that supports my ram and can upgrade to DDR2 in the future(Same a lot of money)... i know those kind of boards dont OC well but im not really worried about OCing. Chozart do you think that is a bad idea? Right now i have a asrock mobo and havent had any major problems with it(althought its not the greastest OCing mobo)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,996 Posts
i would definitely go DDR2 with C2D. anything less is NOT recommended. teh DDR boards are crap i'm pretty sure. <br />
<br />
as for XFIRE<a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813131025" target="_blank"><br />
really good</a><br />
<br />
<a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813127014" target="_blank">Really good too</a>
 
  • Rep+
Reactions: specops

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
8,616 Posts
These motherboards support crossfire:<br />
<br />
P5B Deluxe<br />
MSI P965 PLatinum<br />
Gigabyte DQ6<br />
<br />
and then all of the 975X ones...
 
  • Rep+
Reactions: specops

·
Registered
Joined
·
699 Posts
Discussion Starter #16
thnx cgrado ive definitly got a lot of thinking to do now lol. also do you guys think at this point in time it would be worth going SLI with two X1900XT's when DX10 is right around the corner?<br />
<br />
<br />
rep+
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
8,616 Posts
well, id say buying a $600 card isn't worh it right now... If you want a high-end card, wait for G80, less than two weeks away now. BUT make sure you have a very nice PSU><br />
<br />
HINT: ATis don't sli <img src="/images/smilies/wink.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Wink" class="inlineimg" /><br />
<br />
EDIT: With the E6300 definately go 965P. My pick is the P5B Deluxe becuase you can crossfire and it is feature packed. The DQ6 is better but more expensive.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,996 Posts
almost everyone here will say, wait, don't waste your money. <br />
and yes, you will need a NICE PSU or else you won't be able to handle it. the GTXs are rumored to need to 6pin pci-e connectors. which is most likely true. the GTSs will probably only need one.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
8,616 Posts
The GTS requires 26A on the 12V while the GTX takes 30A.<br />
<br />
SO...sli GTXs need 60A...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,996 Posts
<div style="margin:20px; margin-top:5px; ">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px">Quote:</div>
<table cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="99%">
<tr>
<td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset">

<div>
Originally Posted by <strong>NrGx</strong>

</div>
<div style="font-style:italic">The GTS requires 26A on the 12V while the GTX takes 30A.<br />
<br />
SO...sli GTXs need 60A...</div>

</td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>and hence:<br />
<a href="http://www.pcpower.com/products/viewproduct.php?show=T1KWSR" target="_blank">The beast!</a><br />
<br />
(that's the one, correct?)
 
1 - 20 of 36 Posts
Top