Overclock.net banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
111 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,

I'm not necessarily looking for a solution here but more some feed back. It may be that I managed to screw this up all on my own. Excuse me if the info below is not that precise as I'm a relative novice.

On my sig rig below , I've had no issues at all with any of the Catalyst releases (had up to 9.2 installed with no issues at all) or crossfire and have generally been happy. With one exception. I could not overclock my cards at all. Even the slightest of overclocks would result in artifacting in ATITool. I thought long and hard about flashing the BIOS on my vanilla Sapphire 4870 512's to the Asus Top BIOS. Eventually, due to not being able to suppress the need to tinker any longer, I took the plunge and flashed the BIOS (in DOS , using atiflash). Now, I seem to have issues I did not have before.

Once I had flashed both cards (I actually flashed one, rebooted, then flashed the other), I rebooted into Windows with no problems. I then had to re-install drivers so I re-installed 9.2 and this is when I got the Code 43 error and that message that windows had disabled my second card due to driver incompatibility. Now I've done some searches and it appears there are loads of folks out there getting this message and the only drivers that are working are the 8.11's. I rolled back to these drivers and yes , both cards are working with no issues and at the new default clock speeds as set by the Asus Top BIOS. I just find it odd that before the BIOS flash, I had no issues with any drivers and now I can't use anything more recent than 8.11. This says to me the issues that a lot of people are experiencing are not actually driver related as they're all saying ? Any thoughts on this ? Did I go about this in the wrong way ?