Overclock.net banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2,130 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Read POST #7

So I am kind of new to Intel. I heard that Nvidia goes very well together with Intel and now that I have money on my hands I want to get started biulding my rig. Right now I have about $500 dollars and more will be coming in, especially over the holidays. I want to play crysis maxed out as well as play GTA 4 maxed out. I am not looking for any hardcore i7 parts but want more than a teeny little i3. Here is what I have so far:

CPU: Intel Core i5 760 2.8 Ghz -$210
GPU: GTX 465 Twin Frozr 2 -$200 after rebate
Case: HAF 912 -$60
Mobo: ASUS Maximus III Formula OPEN BOX -$170
PSU: COOLER MASTER GX Series 750w -$80
HDD: Samsung F3 1 Tb: $75 (Maybe upgrade to SSD in future)
Ram: G.Skill 4 Gb DDR3 -$90
DVD: ASUS SATA 24x -$25

So, what do you think? The total is above $500 (Obviously) but I will save up.

·
Registered
1,622 Posts
In a lot of tests and reviews, the GTX 460 outdoes the GTX 465. Might want to look up some and think about it. It's a newer GPU design and has lots of potential. Also, any thoughts on CPU cooling, or were you going with stock?

·
Registered
2,130 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Quote:

Originally Posted by Dorkseid View Post
In a lot of tests and reviews, the GTX 460 outdoes the GTX 465. Might want to look up some and think about it. It's a newer GPU design and has lots of potential. Also, any thoughts on CPU cooling, or were you going with stock?
I was going to get a H70 later on as part of a future upgrade, Also, if I unlock the GTX 465 to a GTX 470 it will outpreform the GTX 460. I also like MSI because of their quality parts, and the Twin Frozr 2 is one of the best GPU coolers.

·
Registered
355 Posts