Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
1,420 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have limited Linux experience in general, but I am very familiar with Linux Mint. About a year or so ago, I ran Linux as my daily rig for about 6 months straight. I tried probably 10 different distributions, but came back to Mint because it was the easiest to use and most for me. To the disdain of many Linux user, Mint works a lot like Windows... there, I said it.

I went back to Windows 10 because I like to try everything. But, I am constantly frustrated with my Windows 10 machine always needing attention. I like to leave my machine on 24/7 as it is my family Plex server. But, every other day I have to go to the machine because it restarted, or logged me out, or whatever, I never had these issues with Linux. My Linux machine could run for weeks and never needed an ounce of attention. Basically, I'm going back to Linux because I'm tired of my wife telling me, "Plex isn't working again."

Here is my needs:

1. Needs to run Chrome and all the Google Drive, Docs, Slides, Sheets, etc. My office is 100% in the Google Ecosystem. So, I need legit Chrome and a lot of Chrome Extensions. No Chromium, actual Google Chrome and all of its features.

2. Need to be able to convert videos. I load cartoons onto my son's tablet and I need to convert video files. Handbrake would work for this.

3. Needs to be able to run a VPN 24/7. I use Private Internet Access VPN. In general, I'm big into security. I'm the guy who encrypts everything on every device and uses scrambled 16 digit passwords that are unique for every login.

4. Needs to run Plex flawlessly, streaming across my internal home network, mostly to Roku Boxes with dedicated Plex Apps on them. I have paid for the Plex app on all our phones and Roku Boxes.

5. ?? I may dual boot with Windows 10, just in case I need to trouble shoot someone's computer, which I do every now and then. ??