Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
713 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is just a quick tutorial on how to enhance your command line skills for those that are relatively new to Linux or the Unix world, and in particular, the bash shell.

A long time ago, when I was a Unix/Linux newbie myself, I met an old school emacs/bash dude named Kevin. The guy was one of those freak'n smart dudes that studied and did research in artificial intelligence and cognitive sciences and designed all sorts of software. I was pretty new to the Unix/Linux world and didn't quite "see the light" just yet, but Kev showed me some pretty cool stuff with the bash shell that made me say "wow! I want to be able to do that too!". So, here I am several years later, i figure i'd share it with other new comers too. And this being OCN, I figure there would be some interest in getting all the "performance" one can out of the command line.

Before I got into Linux and Unix, I use to think, "man, why do these people still use the command line? that's so old school when it's so much easier to use a GUI.." Well, the reason is that in many cases, especially if you know what you're doing (that's the key), using the command line can be much faster than pointing and clicking. Think about it; if your fingers are right over a key, how long does it take for you to hit that key, or combination of keys? Now, if you had to move your hand over to your mouse, move the mouse cursor over to some button and click on it, there's a lot more involved there. It requires hand-eye coordination, not to mention if you were clicking on a menu, you'd have to click a couple more times to get to where you want to go. So, the key to getting really fast at working on Linux/Unix is to be able to do as much as possible without having to move your hand away from the keyboard. And if you believe in this methodology, then bash has some really cool features that will turbocharge your command line skills.