Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 63 Posts

·
Registered
1,673 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have never used a Mac before and would love to try one.
I might be pulling the trigger on a 15' Macbook Pro next week but thought I should post here before.
The only programs I use mainly are
  • Adobe Lightroom 3
  • Adobe Photoshop CS5
  • Microsoft Office
Gaming will be done all on my xbox 360 so no gaming isn't a big deal for me. I already have a laptop but that is going up for sale since the screen size wasn't big enough for me.
Anyone have feedback on using a Mac?

• Rep+
Reactions: Tt2ent

·
Registered
549 Posts
I have a 15 inch macbook pro myself, 4 years old and is still like new, I have no problems at all using photoshop cs4 and powerdirector (video editing)

·
Premium Member
3,688 Posts
I would personally still get a PC of some sorts...The reason is because all of those programs can run on a PC...Unless you are doing some serious stuff for work or something like that...I have CS4 and Premere on my Sig Rig and they run great...

·
Premium Member
3,672 Posts
I have a 13" MacBook Pro that's 2 years old and l love it. The multi-touch trackpad is so awesome on a laptop. Plus it's a very sturdy laptop. I would go for it.

·
Registered
237 Posts
well theres no question that the mac vs pc the mac is more money.
But, the components in the mac are very good and it's a very sturdy unit.

they may not be in the lead in terms of performance, for example the current 13 mbp is running a p8600 i believe, not bad, but it's a 2 yr proc.

They are very easy to work on (unless you're replacing the glass on the lcd - thats more challenging).

My biggest issue is that the cpu/gpu are soldered to the mobo, so if something goes wrong with the mobo, you're pretty much buying a new unit...and limits any option to upgrade the cpu down the road.

I say if you like it and it feels good when using it, then get it.

Cheers!

·
Registered
1,673 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Quote: