Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So i'm new to the overclocking lets start off with saying i'm a total idiot but i'm trying so i like to think i got this some what down.

My build:

Windows 10 home OS
I5-6400 Non-k 2.7
Corsair 8gb x 2 Ram
Asrock pro4s Mobo
Gigabyte 970 gtx g1 gaming
Ssd Patriot Pryo 60gb
HDD 7200 rpm 1tb
HDD 5200 rpm 500gb
OLD - 10000 RPM WD raptor drive
Corsair CX 750 Semi-modular

Now i have followed an overclocking guide and have messed with the bios to start out. Now CPUID is stating i have a 3915xxMHz core speed, but windows is saying

Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6400 cpu @ 2.70Ghz 1.80Ghz

So i'm not to sure what to believe or even how to see if i even got the over clock successful.

Thats one of my issues Second I ran Aida 64 trial version for about 8 hours (mind you i'm going for a 24/7 stable OC) and it didn't seem to have any issue it was reflecting about a 45 degree Temp but again i'm not too sure on the temp but its a Asrock OC but when i try to run a few programs and also Download anything from the internet at the same time the system will Shut down i'm not to sure what i'm doing wrong or even how to check what the errors were

Like i said i'm new to overclocking and tried my best to not over look anything but hey i'm a noob so any ideas or thoughts on this issues would help I'm interested in trying to higher with my over clock but I'm not too sure if i can keep going

Thanks!

·
Banned
4,627 Posts
I can answer the first part. Check aida/hwinfo/cpuid/cpuz, anything besides windows will give you the true speed. Mine is at 4.5 but under task manager it shows as 4.5 but the live speed goes up to like 5.6 or wtv haha.