Overclock.net banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3,263 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This thread is about both operating systems, so I decided to post it here in the main area.

First, I have a laptop (as seen below in my sig) with a Marvell Yukon ethernet card. I think I have heard the sk98lin module will get it working, but I don't know much about doing that. I'm trying to get it to work in Fedora Core 4, as it does not work out of the box for some reason. So I'm wondering if the module I mentioned will make it work, and if so, how do I create it or whatever. I'm somewhat familiar with very basic Linux commands, but other than that, I am a total newb. Any help will be greatly appreciated, as I will not be able to switch to Linux without internet! (Oh, and I have tried using FC5 test 2, but it does not work either, so I'm not sure which FC I'll use, but I'm not sure if that matters? Actually, sound does not work in FC4, so I may need help with that if I use the more stable FC4.)

Second, is about Windows XP. So I found a few FAQs on this site about optimizing it, (perhaps I should give them reps later, thanks guys!) and it has gone quite well. Just two questions I have though.

One is about stopping this one process from starting. Basically, I have determined that the media buttons on my laptop require the use of two processes: an IOhook process and a Key Function process. However, only the IOprocess needs to be running at boot, since it will launch the Key Function process when a media button is pressed. I guess the fncky.exe process, as it is called, simply determines my preferences and executes them or something. Anyways, the only problem is that the IOhook automatically launches the fncky.exe at startup, and I would like to automate its termination (or stop IOhook from launching it in the first place) so I don't have to do it myself everytime.