Overclock.net banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I'm very very new to overlocking, got my new setup for christmas...

Athlon 64 3000+
512MB DDR 3200 (kingston valuram)
Geforce FX 5900 (XFX)
Gigabyte K8NS Pro Mobo

I am wanting to overclock my machine, I have followed the guide made by a user on the site, which has helped no end. I have one problem though, on his guide he says to find the chipset's maximum FSB you should lower the cpu multiplier and the memory timing or ratio or something, however on my bios (Award dual bios), in the frequency and voltage settings i have nothing relating to Ram apart from the Ram voltage control of which i can put up by a maximum of 0.2V. I decided to leave this and simply carry on testing how far the board would go and i managed to reach 240 mhz FSB with everything being stable, after that the machine would hang. Now, obviously, i need to see if it is the RAM or the chipset holding me back. I have heard that nforce chipsets are the best for o/c'ing, however. It would be very helpful if anyone could let me know what sort of speeds they could get on an nforce 3 250 or if anyone could help me with my bios ram timing/ratio problem? Thanks
neeyedsm

·
Registered
1,827 Posts
thats a good o/c already it could be the ram holding you back further try going into the bios and loosen the timings a little then give it another go kingston value ram is a good ram but you would do better with ballistix or corsair . i had basiccally the same setup and got it to 263 fsb stable but thats with ballistix ram very good start though

·
Registered
378 Posts
i have the exact same cpu/ mobo you have, and corsair value select memory

i think its the boards fault, as i have to sometimes raise the voltage to 1.7 to even get 2.3 ghz which isnt very good, but it could be my ram too

·
Premium Member
4,000 Posts