Overclock.net banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am relatively new to overclocking so get ready for a noob question.

I have increased my FSB to 220 and my processor is running at 220*10 = 2200Mhz. I left my DRAM timing at 400 and my HT is set to Auto. Does this mean that my RAM is currently overclocked, along with the processor, or do I have to alter the DRAM timing in order to OC the RAM. The reason that I ask is that I didn't expect my Geil Value Ram to OC 10% with little to no effort and timing set to 2.5-3-3-5 (2.5-4-4-8 stock).

These results are error free on memtest86+ and Prime95 (18 hours). Any help interpreting these results would be appreciated.

·
Premium Member
3,072 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by gimburgy

I am relatively new to overclocking so get ready for a noob question.

I have increased my FSB to 220 and my processor is running at 220*10 = 2200Mhz. I left my DRAM timing at 400 and my HT is set to Auto. Does this mean that my RAM is currently overclocked, along with the processor, or do I have to alter the DRAM timing in order to OC the RAM. The reason that I ask is that I didn't expect my Geil Value Ram to OC 10% with little to no effort and timing set to 2.5-3-3-5 (2.5-4-4-8 stock).

These results are error free on memtest86+ and Prime95 (18 hours). Any help interpreting these results would be appreciated.

Yep, they're now running at 220Mhz, well done. Try for higher if you can

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ste

Yep, they're now running at 220Mhz, well done. Try for higher if you can

Thanks Ste.

I would try going higher, but I'm not sure if it increases my performance. When I ran at 225 FSB, with the same RAM timings, my 3dmark05 score goes down 400-700 (7770 to b/w 7000-7350). However, my sisoft scores increase proportionally and the system is memtest stable - no time for prime95.