Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
308 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, so I got Metro 2033. I started playing it, and the first thing I noticed was just terrible fps. I'd say anywhere from 15-25. My rig is below. Shouldn't I be able to run this at higher settings? My monitor is 1080p (1920x1080), and I can play most demanding games like this effortlessly (BFBC2 on multiplayers gets usually about 45-60 FPS, and barely ever dips below 40.

I tried playing on all settings, in dx9 and dx10, and in dx10, none of the settings (low-very high) looked much different from one another. Is there a known problem with this? I have the latest drivers.

·
I lieks teh cheese
2,097 Posts
I think it's just a poorly optimized game, that's all

·
Registered
3,660 Posts
Ya this game is intens. I only get 40 fps with max settings @ 1920x1080.

·
Premium Member
10,813 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by PhRe4k View Post
I think it's just a poorly optimized game, that's all
Seriously, every game that is high end and requires big hardware is not "poorly optimized". It has nothing to do with "opitimizations". Can you accurately describe what that even means without using generalizations?

Its a game with good graphics, lots of shader effects, etc. and is only going to run well on high end hardware.

I couldn't run it at 1920x1200 with my 4890 maxed out, I had to reduce some of the specs. Its one of those games that really requires a nice rig.

·
Registered
1,647 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by DorkSterr View Post
Ya this game is intens. I only get 40 fps with max settings @ 1920x1080.
total bs

·
Registered
4,831 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by littledonny View Post
total bs
Remember, that's on DX10 not DX11, not sure how big of a difference it makes, but i'm sure there's some.

·
Registered
1,647 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by tylerand View Post
Remember, that's on DX10 not DX11, not sure how big of a difference it makes, but i'm sure there's some.